Fifteen named to 2014 CRCA west all-region teams

Bob Solorio
WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Fifteen Pac-12 women’s rowers have been named to the 2014 Division I West All-Region teams, the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) announced on Tuesday. These awards recognize the outstanding performances of rowers and coxswains.
Nominated student-athletes are evaluated on the strength of their team's regional finish, coaches recommendations and 2,000-meter erg score. Nominees must be eligible student-athletes who have competed in their teams' varsity boat in 75 percent of races this season. These athletes will be eligible for All-America awards selection following the NCAA Rowing Championships.
In addition, Stanford head coach Yasmin Farooq was named West Region Coach of the Year. Farooq, who is in her eighth year at the helm of the Cardinal program, guided Stanford to a first-ever first-place overall finish at the Pac-12 Championships and the Conference’s automatic berth in the NCAA Championships.
West All-Region Teams
First Team
Maddie Cordner, Washington
Anna Dawson, Stanford
Kirstyn Goodger, Washington
Krisztina Gyimes, USC
Nicole Hare, Washington State
Maddy Johnson, Washington
Daphne Martschenko, Stanford
Anna Taylor, Oregon State
Meaghan Volker, UCLA
Kristy Wentzel, Stanford
Second Team 
Filippa Karrfelt, Stanford
Vinta Moca, USC
Patricia Obee, Washington
Alice White, UCLA
Ruth Whyman, Washington