Justin Murphy Named Pac-12 Men’s Crew Newcomer of the Year

Pac-12 Content Image

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – Freshman Justin Murphy was voted the Pac-12 Conference Men’s Crew Newcomer of the Year, the league announced on Monday. Also receiving all-conference accolades were junior Jovan Jovanovic, and sophomores Morgan Hellen and Niki van Sprang.

Murphy has been a standout with the Bears this season and looks to help Cal secure a national title in the Intercollegiate Rowing Association Championships this weekend in his home state of New Jersey. The Montclair, N.J. native will be competing just over 60 miles from his home when the Bears race at Lake Mercer in West Windsor, N.J. He was invited to the United States U23 Men’s National Team Selection Camp and will compete for a spot on one of the boats representing the U.S. in the World Rowing Under 23 Championships July 23-27 in Varese Italy.  

Jovanovic, Hellen and van Sprang have competed in Cal’s varsity eight this season, leading the Bears to victories over Stanford, Oregon State, Wisconsin, as well as the Copley Cup for a first-place finish at the San Diego Crew Classic and a second-place finish at the Pac-12 Championships.

Thursday’s honor marks Jovanovic’s second-straight All-Pac-12 selection.   

Cal enters this weekend’s IRA Championships ranked second in the nation. Action gets underway in the IRA Championships on Friday, May 30 with heat races and runs through Sunday, June 1 with the Grand Finals.   

Athlete of the Year

Austin Hack, Stanford

Newcomer of the Year

Justin Murphy, California

Coach of the Year

Michael Callahan, Washington


Marcus Bowyer, Washington

Sam Dommer, Washington

Ross Ellingwood, Oregon State

Austin Hack, Stanford**

Morgan Hellen, California

Jovan Jovanovic, California*

Henry Meek, Washington

William Miedema, Washington State

Finn Schroeder, Washington

Kaess Smit, Stanford*

Niki van Sprang, California

Sam Tobey, Colorado*

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network