Bears Net 13 On Pac-12 Men’s Crew All-Academic Squad

Pac-12 Content Image

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – A total of 13 Golden Bears were selected to the Pac-12 Conference Men’s Crew All-Academic Team, the league announced on Monday. To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0

overall grade-point and be a significant contributor.

Juniors Demetrius Baefsky (history) and Jack Kornfeld (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) were each selected to the first team for the second-straight season. Sophomore Morgan Hellen, who majors in architecture, also earned a spot on the first team 

Senior coxswain in the varsity eight, Colby Rapson, is a three-time all-academic selection. A dual major in Business and legal studies, Rapson was also honored by the league each of the last two seasons.

Senior Igor Lucic and junior Jason Stroud received all-academic accolades for the second time in their careers. Stroud, who majors in history, was a first-team selection in 2013. Lucic, who studied German, earned second-team laurels in 2012.

Joining Rapson, Lucic and Stroud on the Pac-12 All-Academic Second Team, were first-time selections sophomore Erin Alexander (English), senior Carter Crowe (history), sophomore James Edwards (undeclared), junior Sean Murphy (computer science), junior Trevor Russell (political economy), junior Stephen Tuck (political science) and sophomore Jordan Vanderstoep (undeclared).

The Golden Bears completed their season with a second-place finish in the Intercollegiate Rowing Association Championships this past Sunday. Cal won IRA titles in the second varsity eight and third varsity eight. 

First Team

Demetrius Baefsky

Morgan Hellen

Jack Kornfeld

Second Team

Erin Alexander

Carter Crowe

James Edwards

Igor Lucic

Sean Murphy

Colby Rapson

Trevor Russell

Jason Stroud

Stephen Tuck

Jordan Vanderstoep

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network