Football’s Gonzalez Earns Spot On Lou Groza Award Watch List

TEMPE, Ariz. – Arizona State University football student-athlete Zane Gonzalez has been named to the 2014 Lou Groza Collegiate Placekicker Award Watch List, the Palm Beach County Sports Commission announced Wednesday.

Gonzalez, a 2013 Groza Award semifinalist, led the nation and tied the NCAA freshman record with 25 field goals this past season en route to First Team All-Pac-12 honors and freshman All-America recognition.

He added 63 extra points to set the school record for points scored in a single season with 138, which bested Wilford White’s previous record of 136 set in 1950 and was 20 points more than the next closer kicker in ASU history. 

Gonzalez, a sophomore from Deer Park, Texas, converted on a school-best 18 consecutive field goals during Pac-12 play and his 1.7 field goals per game led the Pac-12. He is one of four kickers from the Pac-12 on the preseason watch list.

A two-time Pac-12 Special Teams Player of the Week in 2013, he was responsible for 16 points in the win over Arizona as he connected on all 10 of his kicks, including all three field goals and all seven extra points, and made all four of his field goals against the Huskies. He was 22-for-26 on field goals this season, including a long of 41, and made 61 extra points.

2014 Sun Devil Award Watch Lists
Groza Award (nation’s most outstanding placekicker) – Zane Gonzalez
Mackey Award (nation’s most outstanding tight end) – De’Marieya Nelson
Maxwell Award (America's College Player of the Year) – D.J. Foster, Taylor Kelly, Jaelen Strong 
Hornung Award (nation's most versatile player) – Foster

Wide receiver Jaelen Strong was also named to the College Football Performance Awards Wide Receiver Trophy Watch List, the organization announced Wednesday.

ASU opens its campaign toward the Pac-12 Championship on Aug. 28 at Sun Devil Stadium against Weber State and the remaining home schedule includes UCLA on Sept. 25, a rematch with Stanford on Oct. 18 and a non-conference game with Notre Dame on Nov. 8.  

Season tickets are currently on sale at, by calling the Sun Devil Athletics Ticket Office at 480-965-5812, making an appointment with a Sun Devil Sales and Service staff member, or visiting the Sun Devil Ticket Office, located on the south end of Sun Devil Stadium. The ticket office is open from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Click here for pricing and more information about Sun Devil Football season tickets.

In addition to guaranteeing the same seat for all 2014 home games, becoming a Sun Devil Football Season Ticket Holder is the only way to guarantee tickets to the Notre Dame game on Nov. 8, 2014, at Sun Devil Stadium.

About the Lou Groza Award

Accomplishments are tabulated throughout the season and the Lou Groza Collegiate Placekicker Award will announce its 20 semifinalists on Thursday, Nov. 6. From this list, a panel of more than 300 FBS head coaches, SIDs, media members, and former Groza finalists selects the top three finalists for the award by Monday, Nov. 24. That same group then selects the national winner, who will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 11 during the Home Depot College Football Awards, broadcast live from Orlando, Fla.

The 23rd Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Placekicker Award, presented by the Orange Bowl Committee, recognizes the three finalists during an early week celebration in Palm Beach County, culminating with a gala awards banquet on Dec. 9, prior to joining ESPN in Orlando.

The Award is named for National Football League Hall of Fame kicker Lou “The Toe” Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Although an All-Pro offensive lineman as well, Groza ushered in the notion that there should be a place on an NFL roster for a kicker.

For more information on the Lou Groza Collegiate Placekicker Award and to see the “Stars of the Week” throughout the season, please go to For even more updates on the best kicking performances throughout the season, follow @LouGrozaAward on Twitter.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder