Mannion Named to Davey O’Brien Award Watch List

CORVALLIS, Ore. – Oregon State senior quarterback Sean Mannion has been named to the 2014 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, released Wednesday by the Davey O’Brien Foundation. Mannion is one of 39 signal callers on the initial list.

Mannion, who has 32 career starts to his credit, has rewritten the Oregon State and Pac-12 Conference record books. In 2013, Mannion set the league’s single season passing record with 4,662 yards and a school-record with 37 touchdown tosses. The senior from Pleasanton, Calif., ranks second in OSU history – and 10th in Pac-12 history – with 10,436 career yards through the air.

In recent weeks, Mannion has shown he belongs among the company of the best quarterbacks in the nation. He recently won the Elite 11 counselors’ challenge and last week was the winner at the 2014 Manning Passing Academy Air-It-Out Challenge.

This year’s list, which was compiled by a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, was selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2014 college football season. All nominees were required to have started at least one college game previously.

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O’Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Nov. 3. The foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 24. The 2014 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 11.

The 38th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 16, 2015 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Beaver Preseason Watch Lists (as of July 16)
Michael Doctor, Sr., LB – Lott IMPACT Trophy (top defender)
Connor Hamlett, Sr., TE – Mackey Award (most outstanding tight end)
Sean Mannion, Sr., QB – Maxwell Award (player of the year), Davey O’Brien Award (nation’s best quarterback)
Richard Mullaney, Jr., WR – Biletnikoff Award (outstanding college receiver)
Steven Nelson, Sr., CB – Bronko Nagurski Trophy (most outstanding defensive player)
Isaac Seumalo, Jr., C – Rimington Trophy (premier center), Outland Trophy (most outstanding interior lineman), Rotary Lombardi Award (college lineman of the year)

Oregon State returns to the practice field in preparation for the upcoming season Aug. 4 with the season opener Aug. 30 at Reser Stadium against Portland State on Pac-12 Networks.

Season tickets remain available in all sections of the stadium, including those that require an Our Beaver Nation donation. Those purchases can be made by contacting the ticket office via this link, or during business hours at Gill Coliseum or at 1-800-GO-BEAVS. The seven game home schedule includes the 118th version of the Civil War, presented by The Oregon College Savings Plan, PacificSource Health Plans, Your Local Ford Stores, Wells Fargo and McDonald’s. The remainder of the home slate includes Portland State, San Diego State, Utah, California, Washington State and Arizona State.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder