Football’s Kelly Named To Manning Award Watch List

TEMPE, Ariz. – Arizona State University quarterback Taylor Kelly has earned a place on the preseason Manning Award Watch List, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

This is the second consecutive season Kelly, a redshirt senior from Eagle, Idaho, has garnered preseason recognition from the Manning Award. He has also been named a preseason candidate for the Walter Camp Player of the Year, selected to the Maxwell and Davey O’Brien award watch lists, and nominated to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting. The list includes 32 of the top quarterbacks in the nation heading into the 2014 season. The winner will again be selected by a voting panel, which includes national media and each of the Mannings, after the bowls.

Kelly enters the season with the second most career starts for a quarterback in the Pac-12 at 27 and is just the second Sun Devil in school history to have multiple seasons with 3,000-plus passing yards. He earned Second Team All-Pac-12 honors in 2013 after he threw for 3,635 yards, the third most in a single season in school history, and moved into the top five on seven single-season school record lists, including passing yards, completions, total offense and points responsible for, among others.

He graduated in May 2014 with a Bachelor of Arts in Education and is a two-time Pac-12 All-Academic honoree, including a second team member in 2013. Kelly is currently enrolled in ASU's new Sports Law and Business program. 

2014 Sun Devil Award Watch Lists
Manning Award – Taylor Kelly
Walter Camp Player of the Year – Kelly
Walker Award (nation’s most outstanding running back) – D.J. Foster
O’Brien Award (nation’s most outstanding quarterback) – Kelly
Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®  (charitable involvement and community service contributions- Kelly
Biletnikoff Award (nation’s most outstanding receiver) – Jaelen Strong
Lombardi Award (nation’s most outstanding down lineman or linebacker) – Jamil Douglas
Outland Trophy (nation’s most outstanding interior lineman) – Douglas
Groza Award (nation’s most outstanding placekicker) – Zane Gonzalez
Mackey Award (nation’s most outstanding tight end) – De’Marieya Nelson
Maxwell Award (America's College Player of the Year) – Foster, Kelly, Strong 
Hornung Award (nation's most versatile player) – Foster

ASU opens its campaign toward the Pac-12 Championship on Aug. 28 at Sun Devil Stadium against Weber State and the remaining home schedule includes UCLA on Sept. 25, a rematch with Stanford on Oct. 18 and a non-conference game with Notre Dame on Nov. 8.  

Season tickets are currently on sale at, by calling the Sun Devil Athletics Ticket Office at 480-965-5812, making an appointment with a Sun Devil Sales and Service staff member, or visiting the Sun Devil Ticket Office, located on the south end of Sun Devil Stadium. The ticket office is open from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Click here for pricing and more information about Sun Devil Football season tickets.

In addition to guaranteeing the same seat for all 2014 home games, becoming a Sun Devil Football Season Ticket Holder is the only way to guarantee tickets to the Notre Dame game on Nov. 8, 2014, at Sun Devil Stadium.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder