Skip to main content

Richards a CLASS Candidate

Sep 18, 2014

STANFORD, Calif. – Stanford senior strong safety Jordan Richards has been named among 30 candidates vying for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award in college football.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

Richards is a public policy major from Folsom, Calif. An Academic All-America selection in 2013, Richards is regarded as one of the premier student-athletes in the country. A team captain, Richards earned notice on preseason All-America teams including ESPN, Athlon and Phil Steele. He is also on the watch list for the Lott IMPACT Trophy and is Stanford’s nomination for the coveted National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete Award.

Richards, who had 10 tackles and a forced fumble against USC in Week Two this season, is a consistent presence on campus and recently contributed time to Stanford University’s “It’s On Us” campaign to prevent sexual assault and relationship violence (Video).

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January.

Football Candidates
Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska
Michael Bennett, Ohio State
Shane Carden, East Carolina
Sam Carter, TCU
Cameron Clemmons, Western Kentucky
La’el Collins, LSU
Chris Conley, Georgia
Reese Dismukes, Auburn
Jamil Douglas, Arizona State
Dominic Espinosa, Texas
Cody Fajardo, Nevada
Trey Flowers, Arkansas
Garrett Frye, Georgia Southern
Devin Gardner, Michigan
Leighton Gasque, Middle Tennessee
Charles Harris, Memphis
Taylor Kelly, Arizona State
Eric Kendricks, UCLA
Nate Leonard, Texas-San Antonio
Tyler Lockett, Kansas State
Sean Mannion, Oregon State
Bradley Marquez, Texas Tech
Karl Mickelsen, Fresno State
Mitch Morse, Missouri
Mark Murphy, Indiana
Andy Phillips, Central Michigan
Terrance Plummer, UCF
Jordan Richards, Stanford
Deterrian Shackelford, Mississippi
JaCorey Shepherd, Kansas