This week in Pac-12 football

Pac-12 Content Image
Associated Press

Download Complete Release (PDF)


Road Warriors: Pac-12 teams continue to excel on the road in league play. The visiting teams are now 23-12 (.657) in league road games. The five teams ranked in this week’s AP Top 25 (Oregon, Arizona State, Arizona, Utah, and UCLA) have combined overall road record of 17-2. The two losses came last week as Utah fell at Arizona State, and Arizona dropped its game at UCLA.

North and South: OREGON controls its own destiny and can clinch the North Division and a spot in the Pac-12’s Football Championship Game with one more win. Meanwhile, there’s a lot more football left to be played in order to clear up the South Division race. As the only one loss team, ARIZONA STATE controls its own destiny. However, four two-loss teams (ARIZONA, UCLA, USC, UTAH) are lurking behind the Sun Devils.

And Then There Was One: UTAH’s Travis Wilson is the only FBS quarterback to have attempted at least 150 passes this season without an interception. He’s completed 93-of-165 for 1,084 yards and 9 TDs.

Mannion Makes His Mark: OREGON STATE senior QB Sean Mannion put his name atop the Pac-12’s career passing leaders on Saturday against California. Mannion’s 15-yard completion to Connor Hamlett with 14:02 remaining in the game gave him 12,334 yards to eclipse the old mark of 12,327 yards set by USC’s Matt Barkley from 2009-12. With 12,454 passing yards, his total currently ranks 20th on the FBS all-time list... The next mark in Mannion’s sight is the Pac-12’s career total offense mark. Barkley sits at No. 1 with 12,214 yards, while Mannion is right behind with 11,755 yards.

National Football Foundation Honors: ARIZONA STATE quarterback Taylor Kelly and STANFORD safety Jordan Richards were two of the 17 recipients of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards. They each will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship and also comprise the list of finalists for the 2014 William V. Campbell Trophy. The Campbell Trophy, which is celebrating its 25th Anniversary in 2014, recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation. Each will be honored Dec. 9 during the 57th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf Astoria.

Award Watch List: The National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) awards continue to release their list of semifinalists. The Maxwell Football Club has announced the 2014 Semifinalists for the 78th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year and the 20th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. The Maxwell Award semifinalists include USC RB Javorius Allen, UCLA QB Brett Hundley and OREGON QB Marcus Mariota. The Chuck Bednarik Award semifinalists include Oregon CB Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, WASHINGTON LB Hau’oli Kikaha, UTAH DE Nate Orchard, Washington DT Danny Shelton, USC DE Leonard Williams, and ARIZONA LB Scooby Wright III.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network