Skip to main content

Pac-12 announces men's soccer all-conference honors

Nov 20, 2014

Download Complete Release (PDF)

SAN FRANCISCO - The Pac-12 Conference announced today the men’s soccer All-Pac-12 honors for the 2014 season, as determined by a polling of the Conference coaches. OREGON STATE’s Khiry Shelton was voted Pac-12 Player of the Year, while STANFORD’s Brandon Vincent was tabbed Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year. Oregon State’s Timmy Mueller was named Pac-12 Freshman of the Year, and Stanford head coach Jeremy Gunn was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year. The All-Pac-12 teams were also announced. 

Pac-12 Player of the Year – Khiry Shelton, F, Oregon State

Khiry Shelton (Leander, Texas) led the the Beavers to their first NCAA Tournament berth since 2003. Through the regular season, Shelton led the Pac-12 in total points with 31, a mark that ranked fifth nationally, and was in the Conference’s top five in shots per game (3.16), points per game (1.63), goals per game (.53) and assists per game (.58). The senior spearheaded an Oregon State offense that ranked second in the Conference in points per game (6.47), goals per game (2.05) and assists per game (2.37).

Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year – Brandon Vincent, D, Stanford

Brandon Vincent (Valencia, Calif.) anchored a Pac-12 Champion Stanford defense that was undefeated at home and held the Conference’s second-best goals-against average (.84), and also ranked tied for first in the Conference in goals allowed only surrendering 16. In addition to bolstering the Cardinal defense, Vincent scored three game-winning goals on the year.

Pac-12 Freshman of the Year – Timmy Mueller, F, Oregon State

Timmy Mueller (Post Falls, Idaho), came up big for the Beavers in his first year, tying for the Conference lead in total goals with 11 and helping Oregon State earn its first NCAA Tournament bid since 2003. The freshman led the Conference with four game-winning goals and ranked in the league’s top five in shots per game (3.00), points per game (1.26) and goals per game. Mueller was the leading goal scorer on a Beavers’ offense that finished the regular season as the nation’s tenth-ranked scoring offense with 2.05 goals per game and was ranked third in points per game, averaging 6.53.

Pac-12 Coach of the Year – Jeremy Gunn, Stanford

Third-year head coach Jeremy Gunn led the Cardinal to its first Pac-12 title since 2001, while earning a No. 6 seed in the NCAA Division I Tournament. Gunn coached the Cardinal to an 13-2-3 record this season, the most wins for a Stanford team in the regular season since 2002 (14).  Under Gunn this season Stanford went undefeated at home and finished the regular season ranked No. 1 in the NSCAA poll.



First Team

        Name, Pos., Yr., School

        Michael Amick, D, So., UCLA

        Stefano Bonomo, F, Sr., California

        Seth Casiple, MF, Sr., California

        Earl Edwards Jr., GK, Sr., UCLA

        Connor Hallisey, MF, Sr., California

        Darwin Jones, F, Sr., Washington

        Jordan Morris, F, So., Stanford 

        Cristian Roldan, MF, So., Washington

        Khiry Shelton, F, Sr., Oregon State

        Leo Stolz, MF, Sr., UCLA

        Brandon Vincent, D, Jr., Stanford

Second Team

        Name, Pos., Yr., School

        Seyi Adekoya, F, Fr., UCLA

        Corey Baird, MF, Fr., Stanford

        Zach Batteer, F, Sr., Stanford

        Andrew Epstein, GK, So., Stanford

        Tomas Hilliard-Arce, D, Fr., Stanford

        Austin Meyer, MF, Sr., Stanford

        James Moberg, MF, Jr., Washington

        Timmy Mueller, F, Fr., Oregon State

        Mason Robertson, F, So., Washington

        Will Seymore, MF, Sr., Oregon State

        Andy Thoma, MF, Sr., Washington

Honorable Mention: Matt Bersano (OSU, GK, Jr.); Abu Danladi (UCLA, F, Fr.); Evyn Hewett (SDSU, D, Sr.) Grady Howe (UCLA, MF, Jr.); Ian Lange (WASH, MF, Jr.); Nick Lima, (CAL, D, So.) David Olsen (SDSU, F, Fr.); Aaron Simmons (UCLA, D, Sr.); Nathan Smith (UCLA, D, So.); Christian Thierjung (California, F, So.) Ty Thompson (STAN, MF, Jr.) Andrew Tusaazemajja (UCLA, F, Sr.)