ASU VB’s Gardner Named To Pac-12 All Conference Team

TEMPE, Ariz.—For the third time in her career, Arizona State volleyball’s junior Macey Gardner has been named to the Pac-12 All-Conference Team, Commissioner Larry Scott announced on Tuesday.

Gardner, a native of Gilbert, Ariz., joins Christine Garner (1993, 1994, 1995) as ASU’s only three-time selections to the league honor.

In 2014, Gardner tied the rally-scoring era school record for single match kills with 30 in the Sun Devils’ road match at Arizona, and has also tallied matches with 29 (Nov. 21 at Washington State), 28 (Nov. 15 vs. Oregon), and 27 kills this season (Sept. 26 at USC).  In her career, Gardner is the only Sun Devil in the rally-scoring era to have eight matches with 27 or more kills.

Gardner also owns the school record for points in a single match when she recorded 33.0 at Washington State (Nov. 21). In the five-set victory, Gardner posted 29 kills, three service aces, and one block. She is also the only Sun Devil to record six matches with 29.0 points or more.

ASU’s points leader with 629.0 in 2014, Gardner’s season total of 560 kills is No. 3 in the single-season record book, behind her 2012 total of 577 and Amanda Burbridge’s record of 599 from 2000. She currently sits at No. 4 in the career record book with 1,643 career kills.

Recently, Gardner was also named to the Pac-12 All-Academic Honorable Mention list for the second time in her career.

Also for the Sun Devils, libero Halle Harker earned Honorable Mention honors to the Pac-12 All-Freshman Team. Harker broke the 10-year-old freshman digs record of 30 in back-to-back matches with 33 on Nov. 13 against Oregon State and 34 on Nov. 15 against Oregon. Her single-season total of 500 digs is also a freshman best.

ASU’s season continues on Thursday as the Sun Devils make their third consecutive appearance in the NCAA Tournament, facing Texas A&M at 3:30 p.m. MT/4:30 p.m. CT in the opening round.

ASU All-Time Pac-10/12 All-Conference Selections
1986—Tammy Webb, Regina Stahl - 2nd Team
1987—Regina Stahl
1988—Christy Nore
1990—Mindy Gowell
1991—Debbie Penney
1992—Christine Everett
1993—Christine Garner, Leanne Schuster
1994—Christine Garner
1995—Christine Garner, Jen Snyder
1996—Terri Cox
1999—Amanda Burbridge
2000—Amanda Burbridge
2002—Juliana Escobar
2012—Macey Gardner
2013—Macey Gardner
2014—Macey Gardner

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder