Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

Regionals Coming to Stanford

Jan 15, 2015

STANFORD, Calif. – The NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Golf Committees have selected Stanford University Golf Course as the site for upcoming NCAA Regional Championships, as announced Thursday.

Stanford was selected to host regional action for three consecutive years, including women’s play in 2016 and 2018, and men’s in 2017.

Located in the foothills overlooking Stanford’s campus, Stanford University Golf Course is consistently rated as one of the finest courses in the world.

Designed in 1930 by renowned architects William Bell and George Thomas, the course is steeped in tradition. Throughout the years, Stanford has hosted many intercollegiate and non-collegiate events, including The Goodwin, Stanford Intercollegiate, Peg Barnard Intercollegiate, Pac-10 Championship, NCAA Regional Championships, NCAA Women’s Championships, USGA Junior Amateur Qualifying, U.S. Open Qualifying and The Gathering at the Farm, a former Senior PGA Tour event.

Stanford University Golf Course has seen many influential golfers contest its grounds throughout the years. Such notables on the men’s side include Tom Watson, Tiger Woods, Bob Rosburg, Notah Begay III, Casey Martin and former USGA presidents Sandy Tatum, Grant Spaeth, Walter Driver, Patrick Rodgers and 2014 NCAA champion Cameron Wilson.

The 2015 NCAA Championships will feature a new format while maintaining the 72-hole stroke play format for determining the individual champion. Finals play for both championships will now consist of three days of stroke play on Friday through Sunday (54 holes), after which the top 15 teams and nine individuals not on an advancing team will be determined. 

That is followed by a final day of 18 holes of stroke play (Monday) to determine the top eight teams that will advance to match play as well as the 72-hole individual champion. The team national champion will be determined by a match-play format that will consist of quarterfinals and semifinals conducted on Tuesday, followed by the finals on Wednesday.