Skip to main content

2014-15 Women's Basketball Media Honors

Mar 4, 2015
Rick Scuteri/AP Photo

Oregon State’s Hamblin named Pac-12 Player and Defensive Player of the Year

UCLA’s Canada named Pac-12 Freshman of the Year

Oregon State’s Rueck voted Pac-12 Coach of the Year

SAN FRANCISCO—In a vote of the Pac-12 Conference's media members, Oregon State's Ruth Hamblin was named the Pac-12 Player and Defensive Player of the Year. UCLA's Jordin Canada was named the Pac-12 Freshman of the Year and OSU's Scott Rueck was named the media's Coach of the Year.

Hamblin, the center for the regular season champions, ranks eighth nationally in blocks (1.1 bpg) and is 11th nationally in field goal shooting (57%). She is fifth in the conference in rebounding and is averaging 12.8 points per game. Oregon State won its first ever conference title for Rueck, now in his fifth year. This is the third time he has won the media's coach of the year.

Canada ranks sixth in the Pac-12 in assists at 4.0 per game and seventh in steals (1.8 spg).

Showing the diversity of the Conference, seven different players received votes for Player of the Year. Hamblin was the overall favorite for Defensive Player of the Year. Canada, Stanford's Kaylee Johnson and Cal's Mikalya Cowling received all the Freshman of the Year votes.

The Pac-12 opens the Pac-12 Tournament, presented by New York Life, March 5-8 at KeyArena in Seattle. Tickets start at $110 for an all-session pass, a general admission flex pass starting at $60, single session tickets starting at $20 and groups of 10 or more for $10 per ticket.  For ticket information and more tournament information, go to:

MEDIA ALL-PAC-12 CONFERENCE: Player of the Year: Ruth Hamblin, Oregon State; Sophie Brunner, Arizona State; Promise Amukamara, Arizona State; Brittany Boyd, Cal; Reshandra Gray, Cal; Jillian Alleyne, Oregon; Jamie Weisner, Oregon State; Sydney Wiese, Oregon State; Amber Orrange, Stanford; Lili Thompson, Stanford; Nirra Fields, UCLA; Taryn Wicijowski, Utah; Kelsey Plum, Washington; Jazmine Davis, Washington; Lia Galdeira, Washington State

MEDIA PAC-12 ALL-FRESHMAN: Freshman of the Year: Jordin Canada, UCLA, Mikayla Cowling, Cal, Gabby Green, Cal, Lexi Bando, Oregon, Kaylee Johnson, Stanford

MEDIA PAC-12 ALL-DEFENSIVE: Defensive Player of the Year: Ruth Hamblin, Oregon State;  Promise Amukamara, Arizona State; Brittany Boyd, California; Jillian Alleyne, Oregon;  Lia Galdeira, Washington State

MEDIA PAC-12 COACH OF THE YEAR: Scott Rueck, Oregon State