2015 Pac-12 Men's Swimming Championships

March 4-7 | TV: 3/6-8 on Pac-12 Networks

USC wins first Pac-12 Men's Swimming Championships title in over thirty years

• Results: Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4Cumulative
• 2015 Pac-12 Men's Swimming Championships Central

FEDERAL WAY, Wash. - USC swam to victory on the final day of the 2015 Pac-12 Men’s Swimming Championships, with the meet coming down to a dramatic finish in the final event of the meet. The Trojans won their first Pac-12 Championship in 1979, scoring 287 points in day four for 818.5 total points and the first-place finish. It marks the first championship in 36 years that has been won by a school other than STANFORD or CALIFORNIA.

The Cardinal finished second with 809.5 points, while the Golden Bears placed third with 673. ARIZONA finished fourth with a total of 508, ARIZONA STATE moved up to fifth with 309 and UTAH finished sixth with 283. 

The night kicked off with Stanford increasing its lead from day three thanks to junior Danny Thomson, who won the 1650 free. He swam a 14:50.19 in the event, touching before second-place finisher Pawel Furtek, a freshman from USC who swam a 14:51.81. Placing third was sophomore Ty Fowler of Arizona with a time of 14:56.09. 

Sophomore Golden Bear Ryan Murphy defended his Pac-12 title in the 200 back, breaking his previous meet record in the process. Murphy swam a time of 1:38.34 in the finals, which bested the 1:39.21 record he set at last year’s meet. Following in second was two-time Pac-12 200 back champion Dave Nolan of Stanford, who swam a 1:40.02 to narrowly beat out third-place finisher Jacob Pebley of California, who swam a 1:40.48. 

Senior Cristian Quintero won his third individual title of the event, picking up his first Pac-12 championship in the 100 free. Quintero swam a 42.21 to place third, while fellow Trojan Santo Condorelli took home second with a 42.27. The 1-2 finish from USC, combined with a third-place finish from California’s Seth Stubblefield, narrowed Stanford’s lead over the field.

The Trojans took the lead on a huge finish from sophomore Steven Stumph in the 200 fly. Stumph, who had the top time in prelims for the top seed, was second in the first 50, but grasped the lead and held on to it through the final 150 yards. He was followed in second by California’s Josh Prenot and Arizona’s Kevin Cordes, the reigning two-time champion in the event. 

USC sealed the victory in the 400 free relay with its third-straight title in the event. The quartet of Ralf Tribuntsov, Santo Condorelli, Reed Malone and Cristian Quintero led the field through the final, touching at a time of 2:49.50 for the win. Placing second was Stanford, while the third-place slot went to Arizona. 

Quintero, who won three individual titles and was a member of three title-winning relays, was named the Swimmer of the Meet for his efforts. 

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network