Seven Pac-12 hoops teams head to postseason play

Pac-12 Content Image

SAN FRANCISCO — ARIZONA, OREGON, UCLA and UTAH earned bids to the NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Championship, while ARIZONA STATE and STANFORD received bids to participate in the National Invitation Tournament. COLORADO will participate in the College Basketball Invitational.

Arizona (31-3) earned the Pac-12’s automatic NCAA Tournament berth on Saturday after defeating Oregon, 80-52, in the Pac-12 Basketball Tournament championship game. The Wildcats, who also claimed the Pac-12’s regular season title, are making their 32nd NCAA Tournament appearance. Arizona is the No. 2 seed and will face No. 15 Texas Southern on Thursday in the West Region’s second round in Portland, Ore.

Utah (24-8), is making its first NCAA Tournament appearance since 2009, and its 28th appearance overall. The Utes claimed the No. 5 seed in the South Region and will meet No. 11 Stephen F. Austin on Thursday in Portland.

Oregon (25-9) is the No. 8 seed in the West Region where it will meet No. 9 Oklahoma State Friday in Omaha, Neb., while UCLA (20-13) is the No. 11 seed in the South Region and will face No. 5 SMU Thursday in Louisville, Ky.

Each of the four Pac-12 teams participating in the NCAA Tournament have captured an NCAA title – Arizona (1997), Oregon (1939), Utah (1944), UCLA (1964-65, 1967-73, 1975 and 1995).

Stanford (19-13) will host UC Davis Tuesday in first round NIT action, while Arizona State (17-15) opens first round NIT action on the road Wednesday at UConn. For the Cardinal, it’s their eighth NIT appearance and has won the NIT title in 1991 and 2012. The Sun Devils are making their 13th NIT appearance.

COLORADO (15-17) will host Gardner-Webb Wednesday in the opening round of the CBI. The Buffaloes are making their first CBI appearance.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network