Pac-12 Women's Basketball teams gear up for postseason

Pac-12 Content Image
Eric Evans Photography

Download Complete Release (PDF)

The Pac-12 Conference returned five teams to the NCAA Tournament for the second-straight year and added two into the WNIT, showing off one of the most competitive seasons in conference history. Pac-12 Tournament champion and four-seed STANFORD, will be one of four Pac-12 teams hosting first and second round games, as the Cardinal will make its 29th NCAA Tournament appearance, having won the title in 1990 and 1992 and been to 12 NCAA Final Fours. The Cardinal begin play with Big West Tournament champion, Cal State Northridge on Saturday. Also in the Oklahoma City region with Stanford is six-seed Washington, which will travel to Iowa City to take on 11-seed Miami (Fla.) on Friday. Third-seed Iowa awaits in the second round. Regular season champion and third-seed OREGON STATE, will host 14-seed South Dakota on Friday. Fellow third-seed ARIZONA STATE will host two in Tempe, opening up with 14-seed Ohio on Saturday, which is making its first NCAA appearance since 1995, out of the Mid-American. Four-seed CALIFORNIA, which fell in the Pac-12 Tournament Finals to its Bay Area rival, will host 13-seed Wichita State out of the Missouri Valley on Friday in Berkeley. The 64-team WNIT will feature WASHINGTON STATE hosting Eastern Washington in the first round in Pullman on Wednesday and UCLA, the automatic qualifier based on conference finish, hosting CSU Bakersfield in Westwood on Thursday.


NCAA TOURNAMENT (NCAA Champions (4): USC-1983, 1984; Stanford-1990, 1992); Final Fours (16): USC-1983, 1984, 1986, Stanford-1990, 1991, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1997, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014; Cal-2013)

Albany Region (Top Seeds: UConn, Kentucky, Louisville, California)

(13) Wichita State at (4) California (ESPN2)    March 20, 4:30 p.m. PT

(5) Texas / (12) Western Kentucky vs. Cal/WSU    March 22 at Berkeley, CA

Oklahoma City Region (Top Seeds: Notre Dame, Baylor, Iowa, Stanford)

(13) CSUN at (4) Stanford (ESPN2)    March 21, 3:30 p.m. PT

(5) Oklahoma / (12) Quinnipiac vs. STAN/CSUN    March 23, at Stanford, CA

(6) Washington vs. (11) Miami, Fla. (ESPN2)    March 20, 9 a.m. PT

(3) Iowa / (14) American vs. UW/MIA    March 22, at Iowa City, IA

Greensboro Region (Top Seeds: So. Carolina, Florida St., Arizona St., No. Carolina) 

(14) Ohio at (3) Arizona State (ESPN2)    March 21, 3:30 p.m. PT

(6) Texas A&M / (11) UALR vs. ASU/OHIO    March 23, at Tempe, AZ

Spokane Region (Top Seeds: Maryland, Tennessee, Oregon St., Duke)

(14) South Dakota St. at (3) Oregon St. (ESPN2)    March 20, 2 p.m. PT

(6) George Washington / (11) Gonzaga vs. OSU/SDS, March 22 at Corvallis, OR



WNIT Champions (6): Oregon State-1980, 1982; Oregon-1989, 2002*, Cal-2010, Arizona-1996; Semifinals (12): Oregon-1979, 1989*, 2002*, Oregon State-1980*, 1982*, Arizona State-1981*, 1996*, Cal-1981, 1987*, 2010*, USC-2011*, Utah-2013* (*-reached finals)

Eastern Washington at Washington State, March 18, time TBA

Pacific/Sacramento State vs. EWU/WSU, March 21-24, time TBA

CSU Bakersfield at UCLA, March 19, time TBA

Long Beach State/San Diego vs. CSUB/UCLA, March 21-24, time TBA


(UCLA and Washington State could meet in the Quarterfinals, March 28-30)


Thursday, March, 5

(7) Washington State def. (10) Oregon, 66-65

(6) UCLA def. (11) Arizona, 80-62

(9) Colorado def. (8) USC, 75-63

(5) Washington def. (12) Utah, 75-64


Friday, March 6, Pac-12 Networks

(2) Arizona State def. (7) Washington State, 67-48

(3) Stanford def. (6) UCLA, 67-62

(9) Colorado def. (1) Oregon State, 68-65

(4) California  def. (5) Washington, 69-53


Saturday, March 7, Pac-12 Networks

(3) Stanford def. (2) Arizona State, 59-56

(4) California def. (9) Colorado, 68-55 


Sunday, March 8, ESPN

(3) Stanford def. (4) California, 61-60

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network