Seven Pac-12 gymnastics teams advance to NCAA Regionals

SAN FRANCISCO – The 2015 National Collegiate Women’s Gymnastics Championships regional selections were announced Monday by the NCAA. Seven of the eight Pac-12 gymnastics teams were selected to advance to the regionals and are spread out across five different sites. All regionals will take place on Saturday, April 4, 2015.

UTAH is the No. 3 seed overall and will be headlining the Berkeley Regional along with host CALIFORNIA. The Golden Bears are the only Pac-12 team that will serve as host this year. CALIFORNIA and Pac-12 Champion UTAH are joined by No. 10 Georgia, Utah State, No. 15 Boise State, and BYU and will start competition at 6 p.m. PT.

UCLA has claimed the No. 7 seed overall and will be traveling to Columbus, Ohio, along with No. 18 ARIZONA. Also competing in Columbus will be No. 6 Michigan, host Ohio State, Central Michigan, and Kentucky. The Bruins and the Wildcats are set to begin competition at 6 p.m. ET.

The Morgantown Regional hosted by West Virginia will showcase STANFORD. The Cardinal garnered the No. 11 seed overall and will be the lone Pac-12 team in West Virginia. This is the 32nd consecutive season in which STANFORD has advanced to Regional competition. The top seed in the Morgantown Regional went to defending co-champion and No. 2 overall seed Florida along with No. 14 Illinois, Arkansas, New Hampshire, and host West Virginia. Competition is set to begin at 4 p.m. ET.

OREGON STATE, the No. 12 overall seed, will compete in the Norman Regional where they will face off with No. 1 overall seed and host Oklahoma as well as No. 13 Penn State, Missouri, Southern Utah, and North Carolina State. The Beavers are set to start competition at 4 p.m. CT.

Lastly, WASHINGTON will be traveling to Iowa to compete in the Ames Regional. No. 4 LSU, No. 9 Nebraska, No. 16 Denver, Michigan State, and host Iowa State will also be participating in the Ames Regional. Competition will begin at 4 p.m. CT.

In addition to the seven Pac-12 teams who qualified for regionals, ARIZONA STATE gymnasts Taylor Allex and Natasha Sundby have qualified as individuals and will compete at the Norman Regional.

The Auburn Regional is the only regional site that will not feature a Pac-12 team. 

The top two teams and top two all-around competitors (who are not on an advancing team) from each regional will receive an automatic berth to the national championships in Fort Worth, Tex. April 17-19, hosted by Texas Woman’s University and the Knight Eady Sports Group. 

In addition, the event winners at each regional site will advance to the national championships (in that event only) if they are not part of a qualifying team or an all-around qualifier.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
    TOMORROW | 9:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Mountain
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder