This year in Pac-12 men's swimming & diving


SAN FRANCISCO – Pac-12 men’s swimming & diving teams had another dominant year in the pool, setting multiple new records while adding to the trophy case with national individual and relay titles. 

CALIFORNIA’s Ryan Murphy took home Pac-12 Men’s Swimmer of the Year accolades, while USC’s Ralf Tribuntsov was voted Men’s Swimming Freshman/Newcomer of the Year and USC’s Dave Salo was selected as Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year. STANFORD’s Kristian Ipsen took home Men’s Diver of the Year for the second-straight season, while ARIZONA STATE’s David Hoffer was voted Men’s Diving Freshman/Newcomer of the Year and Stanford’s Patrick Jeffrey was selected as Men’s Diving Coach of the Year.

At the NCAA Championships, five Pac-12 teams finished in the top-22 while Pac-12 swimmers took home five individual titles and three relay titles. CALIFORNIA finished second overall, while USC and STANFORD finished in the top 10, with the Trojans placing fourth and the Cardinal coming in sixth. ARIZONA finished 11th overall, while UTAH placed 22nd. Cardinal senior David Nolan made history in the pool with his second-career title in the 200 IM, setting an NCAA record in the event. Cal took home a championship in the 200 medley relay, while sophomore Golden Bear Ryan Murphy successfully defended his two titles from last year, winning the 100 and 200 back at the national meet and setting an American record in the 200 back in the process. USC senior standout Cristian Quintero won the 200 free and was a member of the national champion 800 free and 400 free relays. Arizona’s Kevin Cordes won his fourth-consecutive title in the 100 breast, becoming only the third swimmer in NCAA history to win the event four straight years. 

The 2015 Pac-12 Championship saw another record-breaking year, with USC winning its first league crown since 1979 in a dramatic, come-from-behind finish in the final day. The Trojans scored 287 points in day four to score 818.5 total points and mark the first championship in 36 years to be won by a school other than Stanford or California. Cristian Quintero took home Swimmer of the Meet accolades after winning three individual titles, setting a meet record in the 800 free and 200 free, and helping USC to three relay titles. David Nolan defended his Pac-12 title in the 200 IM, setting a new Pac-12 record in the process. California’s Josh Prenot set a new Pac-12 meet record in the 400 IM, while fellow Golden Bear Ryan Murphy set a meet record in the 200 back and Stanford’s Kristian Ipsen had a meet record in the 3-meter diving competition. 

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder