Skip to main content

Buffs Place 15 On MPSF All-Academic Team

Apr 13, 2015

WOODLAND, Calif. - The University of Colorado's track and field team placed 15 student-athletes on the 2015 Mountain Pacific Sports Federation All-Academic teams.

The men had seven honorees, while the women placed eight on the team. Sophomore Ben Saarel led both teams with a 3.98 GPA while majoring in engineering physics. Sophomore Adam Peterman was second for the men with a 3.78 GPA (environmental science). The other men named to the team were sophomore Erik Gaytan, sophomore Joe Holvey, senior Alex Kizirian, sophomore Garrett Losty and junior Morgan Pearson.

The women's team was led by sophomore Lucy May, who has a 3.78 GPA while majoring in business. Senior Lindsy Mattson, an economics major, was second with a 3.77 GPA. CU's other female honorees are junior Maddie Alm, junior Jenny DeSouchet, junior Sophie Hallam-Eames, junior Ewelina Pena, sophomore Mariah Slack and junior Abrianna Torres.

To be chosen for this distinction, honorees must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.00, must be a sophomore academically, must have completed at least one academic year with their institution, and must have competed in at least 50 percent of the institution's competition.


Academic All-MPSF Men's First Team

Name                                     Yr               Major                                                                            Hometown

Erik Gaytan                         So.              Psychology                                                                  Littleton, Colo.

Joe Holvey                           So.              Integrative Physiology                                           Eugene, Ore.

Alex Kizirian                        Sr.               Chemical Engineering                                             Thornton, Colo.

Garrett Losty                      So.              Open Option                                                                Williamsburg, Va.

Morgan Pearson                Jr.               Economics                                                                   New Vernon, N.J.

Adam Peterman                So.              Environmental Science                                          Missoula, Mont.

Ben Saarel                            So.              Engineering Physics                                                Salt Lake City, Utah.

Academic All-MPSF Women's First Team

Name                                     Yr               Major                                                                            Hometown

Maddie Alm                         Jr.               Integrative Physiology                                           Louisville, Colo.

Jenny DeSouchet               Jr.               English                                                                           Alamosa, Colo.

Sophie Hallam-Eames    Jr.               Environmental Science                                          Seattle, Wash.

Lindsy Mattson                  Sr.               Economics                                                                   Grand Rapids, Minn.

Lucy May                              So.              Business                                                                        St. Louis, Mo.

Ewelina Pena                      Jr.               Ecology and Evolutionary Biology                   Lakewood, Colo.

Mariah Slack                       So.              Integrative Physiology                                           Vista, Calif.

Abrianna Torres                Jr.               Sociology                                                                      San Luis Obispos, Calif.