Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

2015 Pac-12 Men's Golf Championships

4/27-4/29 | Pullman, WA
TV: 5/10 at 11 AM PT on Pac-12 Networks

Arizona's Alex McMahon named Pac-12 men's golf scholar-athlete of the year

Apr 24, 2015

PULLMAN, Wash. – ARIZONA’s Alex McMahon has been named the 2015 Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year, announced by the Pac-12 Conference during the pre-championship banquet to kick off the Pac-12 Men’s Golf Championship in Pullman, Wash. These awards have been established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

McMahon, a senior from Oro Valley, Ariz., is maintaining a 3.92 grade point average in business economics and is scheduled to graduate in May, 2015. Following the 2014 season, McMahon was honored with the Arizona Golf Associ-ation’s Mayfair Award, which is given to the player in the state with the lowest weighted scoring average. During his Arizona career, he’s attained a scoring average of 74.12 over 129 rounds, posted 37 rounds of par or better, and has tallied five Top 10 finishes and 15 Top-20 finishes. McMahon earned All-Pac-12 honorable mention honors following the 2014 season, and is a two-time first-team Pac-12 All-Academic honoree.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season.  The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a con-sideration in the voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 22 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnas-tics, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling.

The Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards were established during the 2007-08 academic year.

The Pac-12 Men’s Golf Championship gets underway Monday, April 27, in Pullman, Wash., at the Palouse Ridge Golf Course. The Championship opens with two rounds on Monday, followed by one round Tuesday and will conclude with the final round on Wednesday.

Other nominees included: Ben Shur, ASU; Jonathan Woo, ORE; Scott Kim, OSU; Patrick Grimes, STAN; Preston Valder, UCLA; Cheng-Tsung Pan, WASH; Michael Anderson, WSU.