Nine Pac-12 tennis teams to compete in NCAA Championships

Holly Roberts

SAN FRANCISCO - Nine Pac-12 tennis teams, including five women’s and four men’s squads, were selected to compete for the NCAA Championships beginning next weekend. The first and second rounds will take place May 8-9 on institutional campuses, leading to the semifinals and championship in Waco, Texas, hosted by Baylor. 

On the women’s side, five teams earned bids to the national tournament and will compete for the Pac-12’s 22nd national title in women’s tennis. Pac-12 champion USC earned the No. 1-overall seed, while CALIFORNIA is seeded third, UCLA is seventh and STANFORD picked up the No. 14 seed. The four seeds will host first- and second-round action at their respective home courts. ARIZONA STATE earned the Pac-12’s fifth bid into the tournament and will open play against Arkansas at host Oklahoma State. The Trojans will play Youngstown State in their tournament opener, while Cal plays Bryant, UCLA plays Idaho and Stanford plays Stony Brook. 

For the men, four teams will vie for the Pac-12’s 55th national title in men’s tennis, led by seventh-seeded USC. The Trojans, which took home the Pac-12 Men’s Tennis Championship and were co-champions in the regular season, will host the first and second rounds, opening against Idaho. UCLA, which was seeded 16th in the bracket, will also host the opening rounds and play Florida Gulf Coast in their opener. California and Stanford also picked up bids to the tournament, and the Golden Bears will play Texas A&M Corpus Christi while the co-Pac-12 champion Cardinal faces off against Tennessee.