Six Pac-12 tennis teams in NCAA Championships rounds of 16

USC Athletics

SAN FRANCISCO - The 2015 NCAA Division I Tennis Team Championships continue this weekend, and a total of six Pac-12 tennis squads will compete in the third round of action. Four women’s teams advanced to the third round, while two men’s teams made it through the first two rounds of the championship. The men’s teams will begin Thursday, May 14 while the women’s squads will begin play Friday, May 15 at the Hurd Tennis Center in Waco, Texas, hosted by Baylor. 

USC, UCLA, CALIFORNIA and STANFORD make up a quarter of the final 16 teams remaining in the women’s championship. The four squads posted seven sweeping victories in their eight dual contests and have allowed only one point from their opponents, with USC, UCLA and Cal all winning both of their opening round matches by a 4-0 score and Stanford winning their first-round match, 4-0, before defeating Pepperdine, 4-1. The Bay Area rivalry lives on as No. 3-seed Cal and No. 14-seed Stanford will play each other in their third-round match on Friday, May 15 at 11 a.m. CT. The top-seeded Trojans play No. 16 Texas Tech at 6 p.m. CT, while seventh-seeded UCLA aims to defend its national championship and will play 10th-seeded Texas A&M at 8 a.m. CT. 

In the men’s bracket, USC and UCLA remain in the running for the national title. UCLA blanked Florida Gulf Coast and Texas Tech en route to their third-round berth and will square off against top-seeded Oklahoma on Thursday at 8 a.m. CT. Defending national champion USC also posted back-to-back sweeps, defeating Idaho and San Diego State by identical 4-0 scores. The No. 7-seeded Trojans will play 10th-seeded Duke at 6 p.m. CT on Thursday. 

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder