2015 Pac-12 Track & Field Championships

Event: 5/9-5/10 (Multis) & 5/16-5/17
Drake Stadium | Los Angeles
TV: 5/24 at 9 AM PT on Pac-12 Networks

Lefebure, Tonn named Pac-12 track and field scholar-
athletes of the year

Stanford Athletics

LOS ANGELES -- STANFORD’s Luke Lefebure and Jessica Tonn were named the Pac-12 Men’s and Women’s Track & Field Scholar-Athletes of the Year, the Conference office announced on Saturday at the Pac-12 Men’s and Women’s Track & Field Championships at UCLA. The award, which is presented in each of the 22 sports the Conference sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

Luke Lefebure (West Chester, Pa.) is a five-time All-American specializing in the 800 meters where he was a finalist in the event at the 2014 NCAA Championships, placing sixth overall. A math and computational science major with a 3.75 grade point average, he ranks fifth all-time on the school’s all-time 800 list. Lefebure has also excelled in the indoor competition, earning first team All-American honors (all in the distance medley relay) and was a champion on the 2014 NCAA indoor distance medley relay.

Lefebure was the NCAA Elite 89 winner at the NCAA indoor track and field championships in 2013. The honor is given to the athlete participating in the national championship with the highest GPA. He was also a member of the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) All-Academic team and is a two time Academic All-Pac-12 first team honoree.

Jessica Tonn (Paradise Valley, Ariz.) has a 3.61 GPA in communications at Stanford. A five-time All-American, Tonn recorded the best time in the nation among collegians in the 5,000 meters this season, also posting the second-best time in Pac-12 history and seventh-best all-time in collegiate history (15:18.85). She won the 10,000-meter title at the Pac-12 Championships last year, then followed up with a ninth-place showing at the 2014 U.S. Championships in the 5,000 meters. In the indoor competition, she fifth at the 2015 NCAA Championships at the 3,000-meter distance then helped the distance medley relay team place second.

Tonn is a three-time USTFCCCA All-Academic in track and field and also earned the academic honor after the cross country season. She was also named to the Academic All-Pac-12 team three times.

Both Lefebure and Tonn will be competing in this weekend’s Pac-12 Championships being held at Drake Stadium on the campus of UCLA. Tonn will be going for the long-distance double as she is entered in the 5,000-meter and 10,000 meter race. Lefebure will be looking to score points for the Cardinal in the 800-meters.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum on year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of the sport’s regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 22 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2008-09 academic year.

Also nominated:
MEN - Sam Macaluso, ARIZ; Daniel Winn, ORE; Daniel Herrera, UCLA; Nick Pfeiffer, WASH.

WOMEN - Elvin Kibet, ARIZ; Alex Hartig, ASU; Lauren Crockett, ORE; Kelsi Schaer, OSU; Ida Storm, UCLA; Alexandra Collatz, USC; Rebekah Winterton, UTAH; Eleanor Fulton, WASH; Abby Regan, WSU.

Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder