Pac-12 men's tennis all-Conference honors announced

UCLA Athletics

SAN FRANCISCO - The Pac-12 Conference announced the 2015 Men’s Tennis All-Conference awards today. Individually, UCLA’s Mackenzie McDonald was voted Singles Player of the Year, while STANFORD’s Tom Fawcett received Freshman/Newcomer of the Year accolades. USC’s duo of Yannick Hanfmann and Roberto Quiroz was voted Doubles Team of the Year, while Stanford’s Paul Goldstein was voted Coach of the Year.  

The Pac-12 Men’s Tennis All-Conference teams consist of a six-member first team and a six-member second team. Players who are nominated for the All-Conference team, but are not selected are accorded honorable mention status. The teams are voted upon by the Conference’s eight head coaches. 

First Team

Tom Fawcett, Fr., Stanford *
Andre Goransson, So., California *
Yannick Hanfmann, Sr., USC *
Mackenzie McDonald, So., UCLA *
Dennis Mkrtchian, Sr., UCLA
Roberto Quiroz, Sr., USC *
* - unanimous selection

Second Team
Eric Johnson, Sr., USC
Daan Maasland, Jr., Oregon
John Morrissey, Sr., Stanford
Martin Redlicki, Fr., UCLA
Mitch Stewart, Fr., Washington
Jonny Wang, Sr., USC

Honorable Mention: Gregory Bayane, CAL; Filip Bergevi, CAL; Nick Crystal, USC; Max de Vroome, USC; Jake Douglas, WASH; Karue Sell, UCLA; Simon Stevens, ORE; Naoki Takeda, ARIZ; Oscar Wikberg, CAL; David Wilczynski, STAN. 

Singles Player of the Year: Mackenzie McDonald, UCLA
McDonald, a native of Piedmont, Calif., wrapped up his sophomore campaign with a 29-5 overall record that included a 15-5 mark in dual matches and 14-4 in tournaments. He is 20-4 against nationally ranked opponents, including a win over the No. 1-ranked player in the nation in Axel Alvarez of Oklahoma. Ranked in the top 15 in singles all season and as high as second, McDonald was the singles champion in the USTA/ITA Southwest Regional and won the consolation final in the ITA Men’s All-American Championships. 

Freshman/Newcomer of the Year: Tom Fawcett, Stanford
Fawcett was a breakout star for the Cardinal in his freshman campaign, competing primarily at the No. 1 position in duals and compiling a 14-7 dual record with a 26-12 overall record. He led No. 20 Stanford to a share of the Pac-12  title, its first since 2010, and the No. 1 seed in the Pac-12 Championships. The Cardinal also reached the second round of the NCAA Tournament. The freshman from Winnetka, Ill., was named ITA Northwest Region Rookie of the Year and also captured the USTA/ITA Northwest Regional Championships title in October. 

Doubles Team of the Year: Yannick Hanfmann/Roberto Quiroz, USC
Hanfmann and Quiroz teamed up to post a 22-8 overall doubles record, and were ranked in the top five of the ITA national rankings every week through the regular season. The duo won the 2014 ITA National Indoors Doubles Championship this season and also advanced to the final of the ITA Men’s All-American Doubles Championship. 

Coach of the Year: Paul Goldstein, Stanford
First-year head coach Goldstein directed Stanford to its first NCAA Tournament win in three seasons and a share of the regular-season Pac-12 title for the first time since 2010. Showcasing a lineup that featured three freshmen, the Cardinal finished the season ranked 20th nationally and reached the second round of the NCAA Tournament. Stanford’s first Taube Family Director of Men’s Tennis, Goldstein was introduced as the 10th head coach in school history on June 24, 2014. Goldstein enjoyed a stellar collegiate career from 1995-98, leading the Cardinal to a 104-6 overall record while becoming the first player in NCAA history to compete as a starting member of four consecutive national championship teams. Goldstein was honored as an All-American in each of his four years.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder