Andre Iguodala wins NBA Finals MVP award

Pac-12 Content Image
Getty Images

He didn't get a single start during the regular season, but when it counted, Andre Iguodala was absolutely clutch for the Golden State Warriors.

The Arizona Wildcats standout became the fourth player from a current Pac-12 school to win the Bill Russell NBA Finals MVP award after his Warriors clinched the championship Tuesday night, completing a surprising run to one of the most coveted individual titles in the Association.

Iguodala, who got his first start of the entire 2014-15 season in Game 4 of the Finals, averaged 16.3 points per game and was outstanding on defense as he helped Golden State charge toward the franchise's first NBA title since 1975.

He's the first player from a current Pac-12 school to earn the Finals MVP award since Colorado's Chauncey Billups earned the honor as part of the 2004 Detroit Pistons. UCLA's Kareem Abdul-Jabbar won the award in 1971 with the Bucks (as Lew Alcindor) and 1985 with the Lakers, while Bruins star Bill Walton brought it home in 1977 as part of the Portland Trail Blazers' championship team.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network