Skip to main content


Pac-12 Networks programming may be unavailable due to scheduled technical maintenance.

USC chosen to win Pac-12 in preseason media poll

Jul 30, 2015
John McGillen

SAN FRANCISCO — USC was chosen as the favorite to win the 2015 Pac-12 Conference football title in a preseason poll vote of 45 media members. The Trojans received 21 of 45 votes to earn the preseason favorite pick. USC collected 254 points for the top spot in the South Division, holding 32 of 45 first-place votes. Defending Pac-12 champion OREGON holds the second-most Championship votes, as they garnered 17 votes for the Pac-12 title. The Ducks also picked up 262 points to lead the Pac-12 North. Additionally, ARIZONA STATE tallied three votes for the Pac-12 crown and amassed 200 points for second in the Pac-12 South.

STANFORD was picked to finish second in the Pac-12 North Division, collecting 231 points with eight first-place votes. The Cardinal garnered one vote as the Pac-12 Champion. In the South Division, UCLA was picked to finish third with 180 points and collected six first-place votes, ahead of reigning South Division winner ARIZONA, which tallied 155 votes for fourth place.

 The media poll has correctly selected the Conference Champion in 29 of 54 previous polls, including 12 of the last 15. Following are the results of the preseason media poll (points 6-5-4-3-2-1, first-place votes in parentheses):

North Division South Division
School Points School Points
1. Oregon (37) 262 1. USC (32) 254
2. Stanford (8) 231 2. Arizona State (7) 200
3. California 174 3. UCLA (6) 180
4. Washington 129 4. Arizona 155
5. Washington State 89 5. Utah 105
6. Oregon State 60 6. Colorado 46


Others receiving votes:  Oregon (17), Arizona State (3), UCLA (2), Stanford (1)

The 2015 Pac-12 Championship Football Game will take place Saturday, Dec. 5 at 4:45/5 p.m. PT and will be telecast to a national audience on ABC or ESPN. The Championship game will match the winner of the North Division vs. the winner of the South Division at Levi’s® Stadium in Santa Clara, Calif.

POLL NOTES: USC is picked to win the Conference for the first time since 2012.


Year Media Poll Pick Actual Finish Rose Bowl /
BCS Representatitve
Predicted Finish
1961 UCLA 1st UCLA 1st
1962 Washington 2nd USC 2nd
1963 USC 2nd Washington 2nd
1964 Washington 3rd Oregon State 6th
1965 USC 2nd UCLA 7th
1966 USC 1st USC 1st
1967 USC 1st USC 1st
1968 USC 1st USC 1st
1969 USC 1st USC 1st
1970 USC 6th Stanford 2nd
1971 USC 2nd Stanford 2nd
1972 USC 1st USC 1st
1973 USC 1st USC 1st
1974 USC 1st USC 1st
1975 USC 5th UCLA 3rd
1976 USC 1st USC 1st
1977 USC 2nd Washington 3rd
1978 USC 1st USC 1st
1979 USC 1st USC 1st
1980 USC 3rd Washington 3rd
1981 USC 2nd Washington 4th
1982 USC 3rd UCLA 3rd
1983 Arizona 5th UCLA 5th
1984 UCLA 3rd USC 3rd
1985 USC 4th UCLA 5th
1986 UCLA 2nd Arizona State 4th
1987 UCLA 2nd USC 4th
1988 UCLA 2nd USC 2nd
1989 USC 1st USC 1st
1990 Washington 1st Washington 1st
1991 Washington 1st Washington 1st
1992 Washington 1st Washington 1st
1993 Washington 4th UCLA 6th
1994 Arizona 2nd Oregon 8th
1995 USC 1st USC 1st
1996 USC 5th Arizona State 2nd
1997 Washington 4th Washington State 7th
1998 UCLA 1st UCLA 1st
1999 Arizona 6th Stanford 8th
2000 Washington 1st Washington 1st
2001 Oregon 1st Oregon 1st
2002 Washington State 1st Washington State 1st
2003 USC 1st USC 1st
2004 USC 1st USC 1st
2005 USC 1st USC 1st
2006 USC 1st USC 1st
2007 USC 1st USC 1st
2008 USC 1st USC 1st
2009 USC 5th Oregon 3rd
2010 Oregon 1st Oregon 1st
2011 Oregon (N)*
not eligible
Oregon (N)*
UCLA (S FCG rep)
2012 Oregon (N)
USC (S)*
tie - 1st
tie - 2nd
Stanford (N)*
2013 Oregon (N)*
tie - 1st
tie - 2nd
Stanford (N)*
Arizona State (S)
2014 Oregon (N)*
tie - 2nd
Oregon (N)*
Arizona (S)
2015 Oregon (N)
USC (S)*
    *-picked to win the FCG *-BCS / Rose Bowl participant