Pac-12 All-Century Men's Soccer team announced

Brad Friedel named Pac-12 Men’s Soccer Player of the Century, Seattle Sounders Head Coach Sigi Schmid Pac-12 Men’s Soccer Coach of the Century 

SAN FRANCISCO (October 20, 2015) – Comprised of six forwards, seven midfielders, seven defenders and three goalies, Pac-12 Networks revealed the Pac-12 All-Century Men’s Soccer roster on ‘Pac-12 Sports Report’ Monday night.

Twenty-three players representing five different decades were chosen from a field of 64 players nominated by Pac-12 institutions.

A panel that was made up of current coaches, former players and members of the media conducted voting. Notable voting participants include Pac-12 Networks soccer analysts Christopher Sullivan and Kelly Gray; Olympian and USMT member Chris Henderson; and Ridge Mahoney, Senior Editor of ‘Soccer America.’

The UCLA Bruins lead the pack with 14 selections, followed by California (3), Stanford (3), Oregon State (2) and Washington (1).

Brad Friedel earned Pac-12 Men’s Soccer Player of the Century honors, with current Seattle Sounders Head Coach Sigi Schmid being named the Pac-12 Men’s Soccer Coach of the Century.

Friedel was an NSCAA 1st-team All-American in 1991 and 1992, including 1990 Soccer America Freshman of the Year honors. The three-time All-Far West selection did not allow a goal in the 1990 Final Four. He is a school record holder with a 0.60 career GAA. Friedel also won the 1992 Hermann Trophy and ISAA Goalkeeper of the Year honor. Additionally, Friedel was a member 1994, 1998 and 2002 U.S. World Cup teams, as well as the 1992 and 2000 U.S. Olympic teams. He also is the current holder of the English Premier League record for most consecutive appearances (310).

The winningest coach in UCLA Soccer history, Schmid led UCLA to NCAA titles in 1985, 1990 and 1997, and was the national Coach of the Year in 1984 and 1997. Schmid coached the Bruins to a 322-63-33 record, 16 consecutive post-season appearances and three national titles. Schmid, who led the Columbus Crew to the 2008 MLS Cup Championship, is currently the head coach of the Seattle Sounders. 

Please see below for the comprehensive All-Century men’s soccer roster.

STARTING XI (4-3-3 Formation)


Ante Razov (UCLA, 1992-95)

Billy Thompson (UCLA, 1986-90)

Robbie Findley (Oregon State, 2003-06)


Joe-Max Moore (UCLA, 1990-92)

Cobi Jones (UCLA, 1988-91)

Chris Henderson (UCLA, 1989-90)


Carlos Bocanegra (UCLA, 1997-99)

Paul Caligiuri (UCLA, 1982-86)

Ryan Nelsen (Stanford, 1999-00)

Frankie Hejduk (UCLA, 1992-94)


Brad Friedel (UCLA, 1990-92)


FORWARD (3): Danny Mwanga (Oregon State, 2008-09); Ted Rafalovich (Stanford, 1978-81); Calen Carr (California, 2002-05)

MIDFIELD (4): Leo Stolz (UCLA, 2012-14); Eddie Lewis (UCLA, 1992-95); Dale Ervine (UCLA, 1982-85); C.J. Klaas (Washington, 2001-04)

DEFENSE (3): Steve Birnbaum (California, 2010-13); A.J. Soares (California 2007-10); Chad Marshall (Stanford, 2002-03)

GOALKEEPER (2): Matt Reis (UCLA, 1994-97); Nick Rimando (UCLA, 1997-99)

Pac-12 Men’s Soccer Player of the Century

Brad Friedel (UCLA, 1990-92)

Pac-12 Men’s Soccer Coach of the Century

Sigi Schmid (UCLA, 1980-98)    

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network