Six Pac-12 Women’s Soccer Teams To Compete In NCAA Tournament

Full Bracket

SAN FRANCISCO - Six Pac-12 women’s soccer teams earned berths to the 2015 NCAA Women's Soccer Championship, the Division I Women’s Soccer Committee announced today. STANFORD earned a No. 1 second for the second-straight year and they are joined in the field by No. 3-seeded CALIFORNIA, No. 4-seeded USC, ARIZONA, WASHINGTON and WASHINGTON STATE.

The Pac-12 currently holds an all-time record of 168-113-24 in the NCAA Women’s College Cup, with three national championships and five second-place finishes. The Pac-12 is tied for the second-most conference representatives in the field with six.

Stanford, the 2015 Pac-12 Champions for the fifth time in the last seven years, earned a No. 1 seed for the second-straight year. At 16-2-1 (10-0-1 Pac-12) on the year, Stanford earned its 24th all-time postseason appearance and 18th-consecutive bid. Stanford is one of three Pac-12 teams to win an NCAA Championship, previously taking home the title in 2011. The Cardinal host San Jose State at 7 p.m. PT on Fri., Nov. 13.

California earned a No. 3 seed and they will host Loyola Marymount at 1 p.m. PT on Sat., Nov. 14. It is the Bears's 23rd-overall appearance in the Women’s Soccer Championship. Cal finished in a tie for fourth place in the Pac-12 this year with a 13-5-3 (6-4-1 Pac-12) record. Cal is 15-21-3 all-time in the postseason with two third-place finishes and one fourth-place finish.

USC earned its second-straight NCAA Tournament appearance and claimed a No. 4 seed. On Fri., Nov. 13 at 1 p.m. PT, USC will take on Cal State Fullerton. The Trojans, who are 14-5-1 this season, finished second in the Pac-12 standings with a Conference record of 9-2. USC is 13-11-1 in postseason play all-time. The Trojans also own one of the league’s three NCAA Championship titles after taking home the hardware in 2007.

Washington State hosts Northwestern at 5 p.m. PT on Sat., Nov. 14 in its fifth-consecutive appearance in the postseason. The Cougars finished the 2015 regular season with a 14-5 (7-4 Pac-12) record and took third in the Pac-12. In Washington State’s nine overall tournament appearances, the Cougars hold a record of 2-7-3.

Arizona hosts a NCAA Tournament for the first time in program history. The Wildcats will face Northern Colorado in its first-round matchup at 6 p.m. MT on Fri., Nov. 13. The Wildcats are 12-5-2 (6-4-1 Pac-12) and finished the regular season tied for fourth in the Pac-12. It marks Arizona’s second-straight appearance in the Women’s Soccer Championship and its fourth all-time as Arizona holds a 3-3-0 record in postseason play.

Washington will head to Texas A&M and face the Aggies at 5 p.m. PT on Fri., Nov. 13. The Huskies earned their sixth NCAA Tournament berth in eight years. Washington finished the season with a 12-6-2 (5-5-1 Pac-12) record, which was good for fifth place in the Pac-12. The Huskies have an all-time tournament record of 15-12-2.

Thirty-one conferences were granted automatic bids for the 2015 championship, while the remaining 33 teams were selected at-large. The top 16 teams are seeded and conference teams cannot play each other in the first- or second-rounds. When pairing teams, the committee follows geographic proximity parameters. The top 16 teams will host and all other sites were selected for the first-round to create the least number of flights.

First-round games will be played at campus sites November 13, 14 and 15. Second-round games will be played Friday, November 20, at campus sites, and third-round games will be played Sunday, November 22, at the same campus sites. Quarterfinal games will be played November 27 or 28 also on campus sites.

The 34th annual NCAA Women’s College Cup will be played December 4 and December 6 at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, North Carolina, with Campbell University and the Town of Cary serving as co-hosts. The first national semifinal will be played and shown live on ESPNU at 5 p.m. Eastern Time Friday, December 4. The second semifinal will begin at approximately 7:30 p.m. Eastern Time live on ESPNU. The national championship match will take place at Noon Eastern Time on Sunday, December 6 and will also broadcast live on ESPNU.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder