Skip to main content

Pac-12 Announces Women’s Soccer All-Conference Honors

Nov 10, 2015

SAN FRANCISCO - The Pac-12 Conference announced today the women’s soccer All-Pac-12 honors for the 2015 season, as determined by a polling of the Conference coaches. CALIFORNIA’s Arielle Ship was voted Pac-12 Player of the Year, while USC's Kayla Mills was tabbed Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year. STANFORD’s Alana Cook was named Pac-12 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year while her teammate Jane Campbell was voted Pac-12 Goalkeeper of the Year. Cardinal head coach Paul Ratcliffe was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year. The All-Pac-12 teams were also announced.

Pac-12 Player of the Year – Arielle Ship, F, California
Arielle Ship (Westlake Village, Calif.) is the first player in California program history to be named Pac-12 Player of the Year. She helped lead California to a third-place finish in the Pac-12 and earn a No. 3 seed in the 2015 NCAA Women's Soccer Championship. Ship leads the league in points on the year with  a total of 34 and an average of 1.62 points per game. She scored 14 goals which is tops in the Conference and ranks No. 16 in the country. Of her 14 goals, six were game-winning goals, which is tied for the eighth-best total in the country this year. The junior also dished out six assists as well. Ship was the leader of a prolific offense that leads the Pac-12 in total points with 101 (34 goal, 33 assists). Ship takes home first team All-Pac-12 accolades for the first time in her career.

Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year – Kayla Mills, D, USC 
Kayla Mills (West Covina, Calif.) was a key factor in USC's second-place finish in the Pac-12. Mills, an outside defender, used her versatility to score two goals on the year and dish out four assists. USC led the league in goals against average at .544, which is the ninth-best mark in the country on the year. USC finished the regular season with 43 goals scored and 11 goals allowed in 20 games, the second-best goal differential in the league. Mills is a first team All-Pac-12 honoree for the second-straight year.

Pac-12 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year – Alana Cook, D, Stanford 
Alana Cook (Far Hills, N.J.) started in all 19 matches as a central defender for the Cardinal which went 16-2-1 and 10-0-1 to win the Pac-12 title. The freshman has been vital to Stanford's defense which has the No. 11 goals against average in the country at .561, allowing 11 goals in 19 games. Cook also contributed to Stanford's league-leading shutout percentage of .526, shutting out 10 of its 19 opponents. As a credit to the quality of Stanford's defense, the team was last in the league in saves per game at just 1.84. Although a defender, Cook has scored three goals on the year, including the game-winning goal in her first-collegiate match at Hawai'i, and also dished out an assist. Cook is the eighth Pac-12 Freshman of the Year in Stanford program history and it is the second-straight year it has claimed the award after Andi Sullivan won it in 2014.

Pac-12 Goalkeeper of the Year – Jane Campbell, GK, Stanford
Jane Campbell (Kennesaw, Ga.), a member of the 2015 MAC Hermann Trophy Preseason Watch List, has started in 18 of Stanford's 19 games this season. She has been the voice of the Cardinal defense and a leader on the team that went 16-2-1 on the year and 10-0-1 in Pac-12 play to claim the Conference title. Campbell and her teammates boast the No. 11 goals against average ranking in the country at .561, allowing 11 goals in 19 games. The junior was in the goal for nine of Stanford's 10 shutouts on the season.  Her 28 career-shutouts are fifth on Stanford's all-time list. She earned Pac-12 Goalkeeper of the Week honors twice during the season. She was a second team All-Pac-12 honoree in 2014 as a sophomore.

Pac-12 Coach of the Year – Paul Ratcliffe, Stanford
For the sixth time in the last eight years, head coach Paul Ratcliffe has been named Pac-12 Coach of the Year. In 2015, Ratcliffe led a Cardinal program that earned its fifth Pac-12 title in the last seven years and went undefeated in league play. Ratcliffe's squad earned a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Women's Soccer Championship for the second-straight year, posting a 16-2-1 record overall and going 10-0-1 in Pac-12 play. Stanford is tied for the second-best won-loss-tied percentage in the country on the year at .868. The team's defense has been stout all year, shutting out 10 of its 19 opponents and posting a goals against average of .561 which is No. 11 in the country. Another testament to Stanford's defense is that it has the lowest saves per game average at 1.84 in the Pac-12 and the fourth-lowest in the country.

Name Pos. Yr. School
Morgan Andrews M Jr. USC
Jane Campbell GK Jr. Stanford
Cali Farquharson F Sr. Arizona State
Kourtney Guetlein F Sr. Washington State
McKenzie Karas D Sr. Washington
Kayla Mills D Jr. USC
Haley Rosen M 5Sr. Stanford
Arielle Ship F Jr. California
Gabi Stoian F So. Arizona
Andi Sullivan M So. Stanford
Samantha Witteman D Sr. California
Name Pos. Yr. School
Maddie Bauer D Jr. Stanford
Celeste Boureille M Sr. California
Emily Boyd GK So. California
Kyra Carusa F Fr. Stanford
Alana Cook D Fr. Stanford
Mandy Freeman D Jr. USC
Kaitlyn Johnson F Jr. Washington State
Kimberly Keever F So. Washington
Madison Krauser D Sr. Colorado
Kodi Lavrusky M Sr. UCLA
Shannon Simon M So. Washington

Honorable Mention: Greta Espinoza (OSU, Jr., D); Emma Fletcher (CAL, Jr., M); Darian Jenkins (UCLA, Jr., F); Aly Moon (ASU, So., F); Sammy Jo Prudhomme (USC, Jr., GK); Sheaffer Skadsen (ARIZ, Sr., D); Madison Stark (ASU, So., D); Megan Trabert (UTAH, Sr., D); Megan Turner (STAN, Jr., M); Cara Wegner (WSU, Sr., M); Michelle Xiao (STAN, Fr., F)

Name Pos. School
Kyra Carusa F Stanford
Alana Cook D Stanford
Ella Dederick GK Washington State
Jordan DiBiasi M Stanford
Marissa Everett F Oregon
Kelcie Hedge F Washington
Sarah Kinzner M Colorado
Tegan McGrady D Stanford
Ally Prisock D USC
Paola van der Veen M Utah
Michelle Xiao F Stanford