Skip to main content

Pac-12 Women's Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year Named

Nov 12, 2015

SAN FRANCISCO - ARIZONA's Sheaffer Skadsen was named the Pac-12 Women's Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2015 season, the Conference office announced on Thursday. The award, which is presented in each of the 23 sports the Pac-12 sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline. 

Since the award's inception in 2008, Skadsen is the first Wildcat to earn the recognition in women's soccer. The senior from Vancouver, Wash. has been outstanding in the classroom at Arizona, boasting a 4.0 GPA as a public health major. She earned first team Pac-12 All-Academic honors in 2013 and 2014. Skadsen was also named to the first team CoSIDA All-District 8 in 2014 and 2015. On the field, Skadsen has been the starting center back in 60 of the last 61 games for the Wildcats. For the second-straight year, Skadsen will log the most minutes of any Wildcat field player, only being off the field for 14 minutes of the 2015 season. She has also contributed to Arizona's offense, scoring four goals in her career, two tallies each in 2014 and 2015.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 23 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling.

Also Nominated: Cali Farquharson, ASU; Lorin Hom, CAL; Kate Scheele, COLO; Kelsey Foo, ORE; Gwen Bieck, OSU; Laura Liedle, STAN; Jamie Fink, USC; Megan Trabert, UTAH; Megan Kufeld, WASH; Kourtney Guetlein, WSU.