Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

Vincent named men's soccer scholar-athlete of the year

Nov 12, 2015

SAN FRANCISCO - The Pac-12 has named STANFORD’s Brandon Vincent the Men’s Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the Conference office announced today. The award, which is presented in each of the 23 sports the Pac-12 sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

Vincent, a senior from Valencia, Calif., maintains a 3.26 grade point average (GPA) in economics and was a two time Pac-12 All-Academic honorable mention. The defender was a first team NSCAA/Continental All-American, Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year and earned first team All-Pac-12 distinction last year in 2014. A co-captain for this year’s Pac-12 Champion Cardinal squad, Vincent is currently a Senior CLASS Award finalist as well as a mid-season contender for the MAC Hermann Trophy.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 23 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2008-09 academic year.

Also Nominated: Alex Mangels, CAL; Phillip van Berkom, OSU; Grady Howe, UCLA.