Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

Stanford represents Pac-12 men's soccer in College Cup

Dec 8, 2015

• STANFORD is the lone Pac-12 men's soccer team remaining in the 2015 NCAA Men's Soccer Championship. Four teams battle on Friday, Dec. 11 for a spot in the NCAA Championship match, Dec. 13 at 2 p.m. ET in Sporting Park, Kan. With an all-time tournament record of 18-12-3, the eighth-seeded Pac-12 champion Stanford takes on the fourth-seeded MAC champion Akron on Dec. 11 at 8:30 p.m. ET and the match will be broadcast on ESPNU. The victor will take on the winner of 2-seed Clemson vs. 6-seed Syracuse for the NCAA title.  Along with Stanford, UCLA made its 33rd-consecutive trip to the postseason. The Bruins won their first-round match, 2-0, over Cal Poly, but fell, 1-0, in the second round on the road to Seattle U.

• The Pac-12 owns an overall record of 120-96-10 (.553) in the men's NCAA tournament.

• In the final regular season NSCAA rankings, Stanford is ranked seventh in the nation, while UCLA is ranked No. 25.

• The Cardinal makes its first College Cup appearance since 2002, and fourth trip in program history.

• Off a golden goal, Stanford beat top-seeded Wake Forest, 2-1, in the quarterfinal round to earn a berth to the College Cup. In the third round, Stanford defeated ninth-seeded Ohio State, 3-1. Entering postseason play, the Cardinal received a first-round bye in the NCAA Tournament, and topped Santa Clara, 3-1, in the second round on Nov. 22. Stanford claimed the Pac-12 title outright for the second-straight year with a 7-1-2 Conference record, earning an automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament. Stanford finished the regular season with an overall record of 14-2-2, including an 8-0-2 record at home. The Cardinal set a program record for Pac-12 wins. Its seven-point cushion atop of the league standings is the third-largest margin in Conference history. This year's postseason selection marks Stanford’s 14th overall NCAA Tournament appearance.


All-Pac-12 Honors
The Pac-12 Conference announced the All-Pac-12 honors for the 2015 season, as selected by a polling of the Conference coaches. STANFORD’s Jordan Morris was voted Pac-12 Player of the Year, while his teammate Brandon Vincent was tabbed Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year. UCLA’s Jose Hernandez was voted Pac-12 Freshman of the Year. Cardinal head coach Jeremy Gunn was voted Pac-12 Coach of the Year. The All-Pac-12 teams were also announced. For more information, click here.

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
STANFORD’s Brandon Vincent was named the Men’s Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The award, which is presented in each of the 23 sports the Pac-12 sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline. For more information, click here.


• Stanford's junior forward Jordan Morris and senior defender Brandon Vincent were named two of 15 semifinalists for the MAC Hermann Award trophy. The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual intercollegiate award administered by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA), and presented annually at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. The list will be shortened down to three candidates on Dec. 11 and the winner will be announced on Friday, Jan. 8.

• Stanford's head coach Jeremy Gunn was named Far West Coach of the Year, announced by the NSCAA.


Friday, Dec. 11  TV  Time
#8-seed STANFORD vs #4-seed Akron ESPNU/Watch ESPN 5:30 p.m. PT/8:30 p.m. ET

CONFERENCE STANDINGS (Expanded standings)

Teams Points Pac-12 Record Overall Record
No. 7 Stanford 20 7-1-2 17-2-2
No. 25 UCLA 16 5-4-1 11-9-1
Washington 15 4-3-3 8-5-6
California 14 4-4-2 9-6-2
Oregon State 10 3-6-1 8-9-1
San Diego State 7 2-7-1 8-8-3


• Pac-12 Networks' Sports Report unveiled the Pac-12 All-Century Men's Soccer Team on Oct. 19: 

• UCLA's Brad Friedel was named Pac-12 Men's Soccer Player of the Century, while the Bruins' Sigi Schmid was named Pac-12 Men's Soccer Coach of the Century.

• COMPLETE CAMPAIGN: Pac-12 students are known for their success on the field, but they are also impressive, complete people with outside interests, diverse backgrounds, extracurricular activities, interesting families, busy schedules, and full lives. 

• Morris, a Type 1 diabetic, is also lending his support to Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation’s (JDRF) “T1D Looks Like Me Campaign” for National Diabetes Awareness Month (NDAM). Among a number of different pieces to the awareness push, Morris was featured in a display ad in Times Square.

• CoSIDA announced its Academic All-Americans, and Stanford's Andrew Epstein and Eric Verso, as well as UCLA's Michael Amick were named to the third team. For the full list of honorees, click here.

• A trio of Stanford players were named to TopDrawerSoccer's team of the week including Brandon Vincent, Corey Baird and Jordan Morris. 

• Stanford's Brandon Vincent was named one of ten finalists for the 2015 Senior CLASS Award®. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2015 NCAA Men’s and Women’s College Cup® championships in December.


Date Student-Athlete
Sept. 1 Mikhail Doholis, F, Oregon State
Sept. 8 Andrew Epstein, GK, Stanford
Sept. 15 Timmy Mueller, F, Oregon State
Sept. 22 Jose Carrera-Garcia, M, California
Sept. 29 Seyi Adekoya, F, UCLA
Oct. 6 Jalen Markey, D, Oregon State
Oct. 13 Ryan Herman, GK, Washington
Oct. 20 Jordan Morris, F, Stanford
Oct. 27 Christian Thierjung, F, California
Nov. 3 Abu Danladi, F, UCLA
Nov. 10 Jackson Yueill, M, UCLA
Nov. 17 Brady Blackwell, M, SDSU


Pac-12 Preseason Poll | NSCAA Preseason Poll | CSN Preseason Poll 

MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List
Michael Amick, UCLA; Jordan Morris, Stanford; Brandon Vincent, Stanford