Skip to main content


100 Years of Champions

This month in Pac-12 Conference history - January

Jan 21, 2016
UCLA Athletics

SAN FRANCISCO -- As it embarks on its 100th year, the Pac-12 Conference has been defined by excellence and championships, and has been home to sports legends and superstars. The year-long celebration will include marking the date of the official formation 100 years ago on December 2, a commemorative logo, and special programming on Pac-12 Networks that includes All-Century teams in each sport. In addition, the Conference will release a series of This Month in Pac-12 History releases throughout 2015-16 academic year to highlight memorable moments that occurred in that month in the 100-year history.

This Month in Pac-12 History - DECEMBER:
1939: In the 25th Rose Bowl game, USC beat undefeated and unscored-upon Duke, 7-3. After three scoreless quarters and a Duke field goal, the Trojans’ fourth-string quarterback Doyle Nave threw a late touchdown pass to second-string tight end Al Krueger to take the lead with two minutes to go.

1949: The first-ever Associated Press Men’s Basketball Poll release on Jan. 18 featured No. 10 Utah, No. 17 Stanford and No. 20 Washington State.

1966: In the 1966 Rose Bowl, Bob Stiles stops Michigan State's Bob Apisa on a two-point run to preserve UCLA's 14-12 win over the No. 1 Spartans, knocking himself out in the process.

1967: Super Bowl I featuring the Kansas City Chiefs and Green Bay Packers was played in the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum on Jan. 15. The Packers roster featured Colorado’s Boyd Dowler, Utah’s Marv Fleming, Washington State’s Don Horn, Arizona State’s Travis Williams, and USC’s Ben Wilson and Willie Wood. The Chiefs roster included USC’s Mike Garrett and Pete Beathard, and Stanford’s Chris Burford. The Packers won, 35-10.

1968: Jan. 20, 1968 - It was the game billed as the “Game of the Century” when No. 1 UCLA, led by Lew Alcindor (Kareem Abdul-Jabbar), met No. 2 Houston and future Hall-of-Famer Elvin Hayes in the Houston Astrodome before a then-record 52,693 fans on Jan. 20. Houston snapped UCLA’s 47-game winning streak with a 71-69 victory. UCLA responded later that season with a 101-69 victory over Houston in the NCAA Tournament’s national semifinal.

1973: Bill Walton of UCLA hauled in a career-high 27 rebounds on Jan. 25. Walton is still the career leader in the Conference for rebounds per game at 15.7.

1974: UCLA’s legendary 88-game men’s basketball winning streak comes to an end in South Bend, Indiana, when Notre Dame knocked off the defending national champions, 71-70, on Jan. 19. Despite playing with an injured back suffered the previous week in a fall at Washington State, UCLA’s Bill Walton played all 40 minutes to score 24 points and post nine rebounds.

1976: On Jan. 17, Greg Marsden leads Utah to  win over Cal State Long Beach in his first meet head women’s gymnastics coach. He went on to coach the Red Rocks for 40 years. 

1994: Jason Kidd of California has the most triple-doubles in Pac-12 history with four, three of which came in January of 1994. On Jan. 13th, Kidd posted 17 points, 11 rebounds and 11 assists. He tallied 15 points, 10 rebounds and 18 assists on Jan. 20. Lastly, on Jan. 30, Kidd recorded 18 points, 14 rebounds and 12 assists.

1997: Jade Hyett of Washington State hands out a Pac-12 women’s basketball record 20 assists against California on Jan. 23. That record still stands today.

2000: Eddie House of Arizona State tied Lew Alcindor’s Conference record for most points in men’s basketball game on Jan. 8, scoring 61 points in an 111-108 double-overtime win over California.

2010: Arizona and Oregon combine to score a Pac-12 women’s basketball record 231 points in Eugene on Jan. 16, 2010. The Wildcats won the game scoring 119 points with the Ducks scoring 112, the most in league history by a losing team.

2013: Stanford women’s basketball’s streak of 81-consecutive games won versus Conference teams, including postseason, ends on Jan. 13 when California defeats the Cardinal, 67-55, in Maples Pavilion.

2015: Oregon plays for the first ever College Football Playoff (CFP) Championship, losing to Ohio State, 42-20, on Jan. 12, at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.