Skip to main content

Pac-12 All-Century Men's Volleyball team announced

Jan 26, 2016

Former UCLA Bruins Karch Kiraly, Al Scates named

Pac-12 Men’s Volleyball Player, Coach of the Century 

SAN FRANCISCO, Calif. (January 26, 2016) – The Pac-12 All-Century Men’s Volleyball roster, comprised of 12 Olympians and seven National Player of the Year winners, was revealed by Pac-12 Networks on ‘Pac-12 Sports Report’ Monday night.

Sixteen players, in addition to a player and coach of the century, were chosen from a field of players nominated by each Pac-12 institution. Voting was conducted by a panel comprised of former and current head coaches.

UCLA leads the team with nine selections, followed by USC (4) and Stanford (3).

Former Bruin Karch Kiraly was named the Men’s Volleyball Player of the Century. Kiraly led UCLA to three national titles during his collegiate career, and was an All-American all four years. He was inducted into the UCLA Athletics Hall of Fame in 1993. In 2001, he was inducted in the Volleyball Hall of Fame, and in 2005 he was inducted into the AVCA Volleyball Hall of Fame.  UCLA was 126-5 during his career including two undefeated seasons (1979 & 1982). He won a gold medal at the 1984 Olympics, and was the captain and team MVP of the 1988 Olympic team that won the gold medal. He was a gold medalist at the 1987 Pan American Games, 1986 World Championships and 1985 World Cup, as well as on the beach in the 1996 Olympics.

Al Scates, former UCLA head coach and current Pac-12 Networks volleyball analyst, led the Bruins to 19 NCAA national titles and 2 USVBA National titles during his 50 years (1963-2012) as the head coach. His career came to an end after the 2012 season with a record of 1,239-290 (.812). He is the only coach to guide his team to three consecutive titles three different times including four straight from 1981-84. Scates was named Coach of the Year six times. He guided 54 different first-team NCAA and 26 USVBA All-Americans, 44 national team members, 27 Olympians and seven different Players of the Year.

Please see below for the comprehensive All-Century men’s volleyball roster.


Ricci Luyties – UCLA (1981-84)

Dusty Dvorak – USC (1977-80)

Stein Metzger – UCLA (1993-96)

Brandon Taliaferro – UCLA (1997-2000)


Bryan Ivie – USC (1988-91)

Doug Partie – UCLA (1981-84)

Jeff Nygaard – UCLA (1992-95)

Scott Fortune – Stanford (1985-87, 89)


Erik Shoji – Stanford (2009-12)


Karch Kiraly – UCLA (1979-82)

Celso Kalache – USC (1973-75, 77)

Pat Powers – USC (1978-80)

Paul Nihipali – UCLA (1994-97)

Asbjorn Volstad – UCLA (1984-87)

Ernie Suwara – UCLA (1965-67)

Mike Lambert – Stanford (1993-95, 97)


Karch Kiraly – UCLA (1979-82)


Al Scates – UCLA (1963-2012)