Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

Alleyne, Hamblin named senior class finalists

Feb 18, 2016
Oregon State Athletics / Oregon Athletics

SAN FRANCISCO - Jillian Alleyne of OREGON and Ruth Hamblin of OREGON STATE are among the 10 NCAA Division I senior women’s basketball finalists who excel on and off the court for the 2015-16 Senior CLASS Award, it was announced on Thursday. To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Jillian Alleyne (Fontana, Calif.) is a communications disorders major and works extensively in the Eugene area with deaf and non-verbal children. The Pac-12’s all-time leading rebounder, she aspires to work as a speech pathologist and with children. She is only one of 10 players in NCAA history to have scored 2,000-career points and grab 1,500 rebounds. Alleyne is on the Naismith Award and Wooden Award watch lists.

Ruth Hamblin (Houston, British Columbia) is the reigning Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year and is the NCAA’s active career leader in blocks. This season, she has helped the Beavers into a tie for first in the Pac-12 standings with just two weekends of regular-season action to go, and a No. 7 national ranking by the Associated Press, tying a program best. A mechanical engineering major, she was recently named CoSIDA Academic All-District for the third year in a row and is eligible for CoSIDA Academic All-America honors.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates announced in January. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 21. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the 2016 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four®.

Vote for Alleyne and Hamblin here:

For more information on the Senior CLASS Award and the program, visit