Skip to main content

Pac-12 Women's Basketball All-Century Team revealed on 'Pac-12 Sports Report'

Mar 1, 2016

 Cheryl Miller, Tara VanDerveer earn Player, Coach of the Century honors

SAN FRANCISCO (March 1, 2016) - On Monday night’s episode of ‘Pac-12 Sports Report’, hosts Mike Yam and Ashley Adamson unveiled the Pac-12 Women’s Basketball All-Century Team. The starters consist of eight guards, twelve centers/forwards, one player of the century and one coach of the century.

61 panelists, consisting of media members, Pac-12 staff, coaches and players, were responsible for the selection of the team. Each panelist ranked their top twelve in each category, with their top selection receiving 12 points, their second selection receiving 11 points, etc. The points were then tallied across the entire panel, and the top vote-getters formed the All-Century Team. Only players who were active at their university while the university was a member of the Pac-12 were eligible.

Leading the way with eight players is Stanford. The only other schools with multiple All-Century starters are USC (five) and UCLA (three). The members of the team span five decades, a period when four NCAA championships have been won by current Pac-12 schools.

USC’s Cheryl Miller, who helped the Conference take home two of those NCAA titles and was named NCAA Tournament MVP on both occasions, is the Pac-12 Women’s Basketball Player of the Century. She was a four-time All-American and the Naismith College Player of the Year three times. She currently ranks in the top ten in career points and career rebounds in the NCAA record books. She finished her career with the school record in career scoring (3,018 points), scoring average (22.3 ppg), career rebounds (1,534), total field goals (1,159), and total free throws made (700). Miller went on to win a gold medal at the 1984 Olympic Games. She currently coaches at Langston University in the Red River Athletic Conference.

Tara VanDerveer, the Coach of the Century, has been the head coach at Stanford since 1985. After playing at Albany and Indiana, she began her coaching career at Idaho. In just her second season as the head coach, she took the team to the AIAW Tournament, the predecessor of the NCAA Tournament. After five years at Ohio State, she took over the Stanford program. During her time in Palo Alto, the Cardinal have won 18 Pac-12 Conference Championships and two NCAA Championships. She has been the National Coach of the Year four times and the Pac-12 Coach of the Year ten times.

For the entire team, see below:



Jennifer Azzi, Stanford (1986-1990)

Cynthia Cooper, USC (1982-1986)

Candice Wiggins, Stanford (2004-2008)

Briann January, ASU (2005-2009)

Kate Starbird, Stanford (1993-1997)

Sonja Henning, Stanford (1987-1991)

Jamie Redd, Washington (1995-1999)

Molly Goodenbour, Stanford (1989-1993)


Cheryl Miller, USC (1982-1986)

Lisa Leslie, USC (1990-1994)

Ann Meyers, UCLA (1974-1978)

Denise Curry, UCLA (1979-1982)

Chiney Ogwumike, Stanford (2010-2014)

Nnemkadi Ogwumike, Stanford (2008-2012)

Bev Smith, Oregon (1978-1982)

Pam McGee, USC  (1980-1984)

Natalie Williams, UCLA (1990-1994)

Nicole Powell, Stanford (2000-2004)

Tina Thompson, USC (1993-1997)

Carol Menken, OSU (1979-1981)

Player of the Century:

Cheryl Miller, USC (1982-1986)

Coach of the Century:

Tara VanDerveer, Stanford (1985-present)