2016 Pac-12
Men's Swimming Championships

Event: March 2-5 | Federal Way, WA

Stanford Wins the Men's Pac-12 Swimming and Diving Title

Results | Record Book

Federal Way, Wash. - Stanford won the Conference title at the 2016 Men's Pac-12 Swimming Championships, held at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center in Federal Way, Wash. It is the Cardinal's first title since 2012 and the 32nd Pac-12 title in program history.

Depth was a key factor in Stanford winning the title, earning top-three finishes in 12 of the 18 swimming events and each of the three diving events. The Cardinal claimed three individual swimming championships, two of which came on Saturday night with sophomore Liam Egan winning the 1,650 freestyle in 14:44.85 and sophomore Sam Perry taking the 100-yard freestyle in 42.72. Perry also won the 50-yard freestyle on Thursday in 19.30.

California sophomore Andrew Seliskar was named Swimmer of the Meet, an honor voted on by the coaches at the end of the meet after he won three individual and three relay titles over the four days of competition. Stanford senior Gray Umbach was also honored at the end of the meet as the 2016 Pac-12 Men's Swimming and Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Final Team Scores
1. Stanford - 808
2. USC - 700
3. California - 628
4. Arizona - 569
5. Arizona State - 402
6. Utah - 295

1650 Freestyle
• Egan won the event in 14:44.85, the No. 8 time in the country. 
• Egan was joined on the podium by teammate Danny Thomson, the senior who won the title 2015 clocked a time of 14:52.12 in third place. Arizona junior Tyler Fowler earned a runner-up finish with a time of 14:49.44.

200 Backstroke
• Freshman Patrick Mulcare from USC won the event with a time of 1:39.64.
• Mulcare is the first Trojan to win the event since Lenny Krayzelburg in 1998.
• Stanford sophomore Patrick Conaton took second place with a time of 1:41.01 while Thane Maudslien of Arizona earned a third-place finish with a time of 1:41.13.

100 Freestyle
• Perry won the event with a time of 42.72.
• Perry is the first Cardinal to win the Conference title in the event since Ben Wildman-Tobriner in 2007.
• Arizona junior Renny Richmond earned a runner-up finish with a time of 42.78 and USC sophomore Ralf Tribuntsov's time of 43.14 was good for a third-place finish.

200 Breaststroke
• USC junior Steven Stumph won the event for the second-straight year with a time of 1:54.01. 
• USC freshman Carsten Vissering clocked the second-fastest time in the finals, winning the 'B' final with a time of 1:54.09. Stumph and Vissering were joined on the podium by Stanford freshman Matt Anderson who clocked a time of 1:54.77, good for second place in the 'A' final and third place overall.

200 Butterfly
• Seliskar's time of 1:41.53 was good for a first-place finish.
• California has claimed the Conference title in the event for the second-straight year and fifth time in the last six years.
• Arizona sophomore Justin Wright's time of 1:41.76 was good for second place overall while California's Long Gutierrez, the 2015 champion in the event, took third place with a time of 1:43.02.

400 Freestyle Relay
• California's quartet of sophomore Justin Lynch, sophomore Kyle Coan, Seliskar and Gutierrez won the event with a time of 2:51.47.
• It is the Golden Bears' first title in the event since 2013 and only the second since 1992.
• Stanford earned a runner-up finish with a time of 2:52.04 and in third place with a time of 2:52.36 was Arizona State.

The NCAA Championships will be held March 23-26 at the Georgia Tech Aquatic Center.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder