Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

Pac-12 Men’s Basketball All-Century Team revealed on Pac-12 Networks

Mar 10, 2016

SAN FRANCISCO (March 10, 2016) – Celebrating the 100th anniversary of the Pac-12 Conference, Pac-12 Networks revealed the men’s basketball all-century lineup on ‘Pac-12 All-Century: Men’s Basketball Team’ on Tuesday night.

The show announced eight guards, eight forwards, four centers, and the Coach and Player of the Century. Each Pac-12 institution selected the nominees on the ballot. From there, 114 panelists voted for the members of the team.

The Pac-12 Men’s Basketball Coach of the Century is John Wooden, who coached at UCLA from 1948-75, held a 620-147 (.808) overall record and a 304-74 Conference record. A member of the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame, Wooden is a six-time national coach of the year (1963-64, 1966-67, 1968-69, 1969-70, 1971-72, 1972-73) and currently ranks 25th all-time with 664 career wins. Wooden won 10 NCAA titles over a stretch of 12 years (1964-75), which included a record 88-game win streak had a record or 47-10 with 12 Final Fours at the NCAA Tournament. He also produced perfect 30-0 seasons four times (1963-64, 1966-67, 1971-72, 1972-73) and lost two games or less another five times.

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, who was at UCLA from 1966-69, is the Pac-12 Men’s Basketball Player of the Century. He is also a member of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the 1966-67 and 1968-69 National Player of the Year. A three-time consensus first team All-American and a three-time all-conference selection (1967-69), Abdul-Jabbar is the only player to be named a Final Four MVP three times. He led UCLA to an 88-2 record in three seasons and three NCAA titles, and finished as the conference's top scorer with 2,325 career points, now fourth all-time and topped in the late 1980s, two decades after it was set. Abdul-Jabbar has the conference and UCLA record for highest career scoring average (26.4 points per game) and for an individual season at 29.0 points per game.

For the lineup of the team, see below:


Gary Payton-Oregon State 1987-90

Gail Goodrich-UCLA 1963-65

Jason Kidd-California 1993-94

Walt Hazzard-UCLA 1962-64

Harold Miner-USC 1990-92

Ron Lee-Oregon 1973-76

Paul Westphal-USC 1970-72

Damon Stoudamire-Arizona 1992-95


Sean Elliott-Arizona 1986-89

Marques Johnson-UCLA 1974-77

Sidney Wicks-UCLA 1969-71

Jamaal Wilkes-UCLA 1972-74

Reggie Miller-UCLA 11984-87

Hank Luisetti-Stanford 1936-38

Don MacLean-UCLA 1989-92

Ed O'Bannon-UCLA 1992-95


Kareem Abdul-Jabbar-UCLA 1967-69

Bill Walton-UCLA 1972-74

Mel Counts-Oregon State 1962-64

Bob Houbregs-Washington-1951-53

Player of the Century:

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, UCLA, 1967-69

Coach of the Century:

John Wooden, UCLA, 1949-75