Pac-12 Announces Wrestling All-Academic Teams

Ari Grainey

SAN FRANCISCO - Following are the 2016 Pac-12 Conference Wrestling All-Academic teams, announced today by Commissioner Larry Scott. To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and participate in at least half of their teams' scheduled regular season events.


First Team Yr. GPA Major
Nathan Butler, STAN R-SO 3.56 Computer Science
Ares Carpio, ASU SR 3.35 Computer Systems Engineering
Spencer Empey, CP JR 3.46 Mechanical Engineering
Paul Fox, STAN R-FR 3.55 Undeclared
Reuben Franklin, CSUB R-SR 3.56 Biology
Jacob Leon, CP SR 3.81 Kinesiology
Ian Nickell, CSUB  R-SR 3.91 Petroleum Engineering
Brian Rossi, STAN R-FR 3.65 Undeclared
Seth Thomas, OSU GR 4.00 BioHealth Sciences
Matt Williams, CSUB R-SO 3.52 Criminal Justice
Second Team Yr.  GPA Major
Walker Dempsey, STAN R-FR 3.43 Undeclared
Peter Galli, STAN R-JR 3.33 Science, Technology & Society
Coleman Hammond, CSUB R-SO 3.17 Business Administration
Blake Kastl, CP SR 3.15 Kinesiology
Geordan Martinez, BSU SO 3.33 Finance
Mason Pengilly, STAN SO 3.33 Undeclared
Connor Schram, STAN R-SO 3.25 Science, Technology & Society
Michael Sojka, STAN R-SR 3.21 Civil & Environmental Engineering
Keaton Subjeck, STAN R-SO 3.15 Computer Science
Jake Velarde, BSU R-SO 3.23 Biology

Honorable Mention: Gaylen Edmo, R-SO, BSU; Xavier Johnson, SR, CP; Joey Palmer, JR, OSU; Tommy Pawelski, R-SO, STAN; Oliver Pierce, R-SO, ASU; Colton Shorts, SR, CP; Blake Stauffer, R-SR, ASU; Jim Wilson, R-JR, STAN.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder