Skip to main content

Pac-12 All-Century Men's and Women's Tennis teams unveiled

Apr 12, 2016

SAN FRANCISCO (April 12, 2016) – Pac-12 Networks’ flagship show, ‘Pac-12 Sports Report’ revealed the Men’s and Women’s Tennis All-Century teams Monday night.

The 12-member Men’s and Women’s Tennis All-Century Teams were voted on by a panel of 20 consisting of coaches, players, administrators and members of the media.

On the men’s side, USC leads all schools with six selections, followed by Stanford (4) and UCLA (2). In all, the team has 30 NCAA titles amongst its members. All 12 members have won at least one NCAA title, and nine have won at least one singles and one doubles title. The team also boasts 74 Grand Slam titles (singles and doubles) won and 25 Davis Cup victories. Additionally, five players have been ranked no. 1 in the world.

For the women, Stanford leads all schools with seven selections, followed by California (2), UCLA (2) and USC (1). Members of the team combine for a total of 26 National Championships, both AIAW and NCAA, and 21 NCAA titles. Also, the team has six WTA tour singles titles, six Grand Slam titles (doubles) and two Federation Cup winners.

The Pac-12 Men’s Tennis Doubles Team of the Century, Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan of Stanford, has 16 Grand Slam Doubles titles, 109 doubles titles won and was the No. 1 tandem in the world (jointly) for a record 438 weeks.

Stanford’s Dick Gould was named the Pac-12 Men's Tennis Coach of the Century. Gould has 17 NCAA team championships, and has coached 10 NCAA singles winners and nine NCAA doubles winners. He has an overall record of 776–148 and a .840 winning percentage.

The Pac-12 Men's Tennis Player of the Century, Steve Johnson, won NCAA team titles in all four seasons and won two NCAA singles titles (2011-12) with the USC Trojans. Johnson finished 20011 and 2012 as No. 1 college player for USC, ending with 72 straight wins. He was the 2011 2012 ITA Player of the Year and Pac-12 Player of the Year.  Johnson was also part of the 2009, 2010 and 2012 Pac-12 Doubles Team of the Year.

Pac-12 Doubles Team of the Century, Amanda Augustus and Amy Jensen (California), was the 1998 & 1999 NCAA Doubles Champion for the Golden bears.

Stanford’s Frank Brennan, the Pac-12 Women's Tennis Coach of the Century, is the winningest coach in school history, compiling a 510-50 overall record (.911) in 21 seasons. Brennan led the Cardinal to 10 NCAA championships, including six in a row from 1986-91, and directed Stanford to 13 straight Pac-12 titles from 1988-2000.

The Cardinal also took the Pac-12 Women's Tennis Player of the Century honor with Patty Fendick-McCain. The 1986 NCAA singles champion, 1987 NCAA singles champion and four-time All-American was also the 1987 Pac-10 Player of the Year. Fendick-McCain was part of three NCAA championship teams (1984, 1986, 1987), member of 1987 Pac-10 championship team and the 1987 Honda Broderick Award winner. A member of Stanford Athletics Hall of Fame, she was the 1988 WTA Rookie of the Year, 1991 Australian Open Doubles Champion and member of U.S. Federation Cup and U.S. Wightman Cup.

See below for the entire teams:

Pac-12 All-Century Men’s Tennis roster

John McEnroe, Stanford, 1978

Jimmy Connors, UCLA, 1971

Arthur Ashe, UCLA, 1963-65

Steve Johnson, USC, 2009-12

Stan Smith, USC, 1966-68

Dennis Ralston, USC, 1962-64

Bob Bryan, Stanford, 1997-98

Rafael Osuna, USC, 1961-63

Alex Olmedo, USC, 1956-58

Alex O'Brien, Stanford, 1989-92

Bob Lutz, USC, 1967-69

Alex Mayer, Stanford, 1971-73

Men’s Tennis Coach of the Century

Dick Gould, Stanford, 1966-2004

Men’s Tennis Doubles Team of the Century

Bob Bryan/Mike Bryan, Stanford

Men’s Tennis Player of the Century

Steve Johnson, USC, 2009-12

Women’s Tennis All-Century Team

Patty Fendick-McCain, Stanford, 1984-87

Nicole Gibbs, Stanford, 2011-13

Amber Liu, Stanford, 2003-06

Laura Granville, Stanford, 2000-01

Sandra Birch, Stanford, 1998-01

Barbara Hallquist DeGroot, USC, 1976-79

Kathy Jordan Stanford, 1978-79

Jana Juricova, California, 2009-12

Linda Gates, Stanford, 1982-85

Robin Anderson, UCLA, 2012-15

Amy Jensen, California, 1996-00

Keri Phebus, UCLA, 1993-96

Women’s Tennis Coach of the Century

Frank Brennan, Stanford, 1979-2000

Women’s Tennis Doubles Team of the Century

Amanda Augustus/Amy Jensen, California

Women’s Tennis Player of the Century

Patty Fendick-McCain, Stanford, 1984-87