2016 Pac-12 Tennis Championships

Event: April 20-24 | Ojai, CA
TV: Live coverage April 22-24
on Pac-12 Network

Tennis Teams Set For Pac-12 Championships

Pac-12 Content Image
USC Athletics/UCLA Athletics


PAC-12 CHAMPIONSHIPS INFO: The Pac-12’s eight men’s teams and 11 women’s teams come to Ojai, Calif., Wednesday, April 20 - Sunday, April 24 to decide the league’s women’s singles and doubles champions, in addition to the men’s team champion. For the women, the 32-player singles draw consists of three players from each of the top ten schools that sponsor women’s tennis and two players from the 11th-place team, based on the regular season standings. The 16-team women’s doubles draw will have one doubles team from each of the 11 schools and five additional teams selected by the Draw Committee. For the men, the Pac-12 hosts a team tournament to determine the automatic qualifier for the NCAA Championships. Teams will be seeded based on won-lost percentages during regular-season Conference play. 

WHAT & WHERE: Pac-12 competition will be held in conjunction with the 116th Annual Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament. The Pac-12 men will compete at Libbey Park in Ojai for all rounds. The Pac-12 women will play the first two rounds at the Ojai Valley Athletic Club, and then will play the semifinals and finals at Libbey Park. The men’s team championship match will be played at Libbey Park on Saturday at 6 p.m. The women’s singles championship match is scheduled for 10 a.m. on Sunday at Libbey Park and will be followed by the doubles final at 1 p.m.

COVERAGE: Pac-12 Network will be broadcasting the tennis championships live for both of the men’s matches on Friday as well as the Championship match on Saturday. The women’s singles championship on Sunday will be broadcast live at 10 a.m. along with the doubles championship at 1 p.m. Live results can be found here.

OJAI HISTORY: The Pac-12 Championships will keep with tradition as the featured event at this year’s 116th Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament, which attracts 1,600 of the best college, junior and open players from the Western states. The annual event, started by William Thacher in 1896, has been played at the same site and interrupted only five times. If this tournament, put on entirely by volunteer efforts on public and privately owned courts, seems an unlikely place to see championship quality players, consider who has appeared here: Pete Sampras, Lindsay Davenport, Michael Chang, Rick Leach, Tracy Austin, Billy Jean King, Arthur Ashe, Jimmy Connors and the Bryan twins. These tennis greats are among more than 85 former players at The Ojai who have gone on to win one or more Grand Slam events as professional tennis players, all of whom are listed on Libbey Park’s “Wall of Fame.”

HOW TO GET TO OJAI: Ojai Valley Athletic Club and Libby Park are located at 409 Fox Street, Ojai, CA 93023. The Ojai Tournament website is: www.ojaitourney.org/tournament-info

BRACKETS: The men’s bracket has been finalized and can be found on page five. The women’s singles and doubles draw will be available by the morning of Thursday, April 21. Both brackets will be available on the Pac-12 Tennis Championship website here.

TICKET PRICES: Cash and credit card only accepted. Buy tickets online here. 

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network