Nine Pac-12 Women’s Golf Teams Selected For NCAA Regionals

Douglas Taylor

SAN FRANCISCO-- The Pac-12 Conference will be well represented in the 2016 NCAA Women’s Golf Championships as nine teams will compete in one of four regional tournaments, which will be conducted May 5-7.

Eight Pac-12 teams earned a seed of No. 5 or better in one of the four regionals, including Pac-12 Champion USC, which holds the No. 1 seed at the Stanford Region (Stanford Golf Course, Stanford, Calif.). UCLA, the Pac-12 runner-up, is also a No. 1 seed in the Bryan Regional (Traditions Club, Bryan, Texas), STANFORD is the No. 3 seed and COLORADO the No. 9 seed in the Stanford Regional (Stanford Golf Course, Stanford, Calif.). ARIZONA stands at the No. 3 seed in the Bryan Regional (Traditions Club, Bryan, Texas) while No. 3 seed ARIZONA STATE, No. 4 seed WASHINGTON, and No. 5 seed OREGON will all head to the Baton Rouge Regional (University Club, Baton Rouge, Louisiana). CALIFORNIA will travel to Shoal Creek, Ala. to play in the Shoal Creek Regional.

The low six teams and the low three individuals not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals, which will be held May 20-May 25, at the Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Ore. (University of Oregon, host).

The Pac-12 Conference has claimed 16 NCAA team titles and produced 14 NCAA individual champions. Since 2005, the Pac-12 has earned five NCAA team titles (2008 - USC ; 2009 - ASU; 2011 – UCLA; 2013 – USC; 2015 - Stanford) and four NCAA individual titles (2006 - Dewi Schreefel, USC; 2008 - Azahara Muñoz, ASU; 2013 - Annie Park, USC; 2014 - Doris Chen, USC).

NCAA Championships Format

All 24 teams and 12 individuals advancing from regional play will complete 54-holes of stroke play. Following 72 holes of competition, an individual champion will be declared along with finishers 2-15. The top eight teams after 54 holes of play will be placed into a bracket with the number one seed playing the number eight seed, the number two seed versus the number seven seed, the number three seed versus the number six seed, and the number four seed versus the number five seed competing in match play. A total of five points will be available with one point being awarded for each individual match. Winning teams will advance to the semifinals and subsequently the finals. The first team to win three points within a match will advance, or in the case of the final match be declared the national champion.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder