This Year in Pac-12 Wrestling

Oregon State Athletics

SAN FRANCISCO - OREGON STATE successfully defended its championship, winning its fifth-consecutive Pac-12 title in a year where 25 Pac-12 wrestlers earned berths to the NCAA Championships. The Beavers, ARIZONA STATE and STANFORD each had six national qualifiers while while CSU BAKERSFIELD had five and CAL POLY had two.

Pac-12 Wrestler of the Year Amarveer Dhesi finished fifth overall in the heavyweight class at NCAAs. Stanford’s Connor Schram placed eighth in the 125 class. Pac-12 Wrestling Freshman/Newcomer of the Year Joey McKenna of Stanford took third place overall and became the first freshman in program history to earn All-America accolades. 

The Beavers claimed their fifth-straight title at the Pac-12 Championships despite only having one individual champion. That one champion, Dhesi, was also named the Outstanding Wrestler of the Meet. Head coach Jim Zalesky earned his fifth-consecutive Pac-12 Wrestling Coach of the Year honor and sixth in the past seven seasons as the Beavers claimed their fifth-straight Pac-12 title. The win marked the seventh Conference title in Zalesky’s 10 seasons at the helm. Stanford (Schram,  McKenna and Jim Wilson) and Arizona State (Dalton Brady, Blake Stauffer and Josh DaSilveira) each claimed three individual titles while Boise State won two (Chris Castillo and Geordan Martinez) and Bryce Hammond claimed CSU Bakersfield’s lone title.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder