Skip to main content

2016 Pac-12 Beach Volleyball Championships

Event: April 28 - May 1 | Los Angeles, CA

UA, UCLA, USC, UW in hunt for Pac-12 Beach Volleyball team title

Apr 30, 2016
Maya Dondonyan


LOS ANGELES - The Pac-12 Beach Volleyball Championship is down to its final four teams as ARIZONA, UCLA, USC and WASHINGTON all remained in contention for the inaugural title with victories on Saturday.

The third day of play at Merle Norman Stadium featured six dual matches across the Winner's and Contender's Bracket of the Team Championship, halving the eight-team field to four entering Sunday's finale in which all four contests will be televised by Pac-12 Networks.

Host, top seed and No. 1 nationally ranked USC (28-2) recorded its 24th consecutive victory - eighth straight via sweep - with a 5-0 win against CALIFORNIA to advance to the Winner's Bracket semifinals.

Awaiting the Trojans will be second seeded and No. 4 ranked UCLA (19-4), which won for the 12th straight time with a 4-1 triumph against third seeded and No. 6 ranked ARIZONA.

The Trojans and Bruins will meet at 9 a.m. PT in the opener of Sunday's Pac-12 Networks quadruple-header.

ARIZONA (17-4) and WASHINGTON (5-5) remained alive in the Contender's Bracket by eliminating ARIZONA STATE (12-13) and CALIFORNIA (17-11), respectively, in Saturday's late matches.

The Wildcats swept the Sun Devils, 5-0, for their third win in the series in the past 16 days, while the seventh seeded Huskies scored their second upset of the day by knocking off the fourth seeded and No. 15 ranked Golden Bears, 4-1.

UA and UW will meet at 11 a.m. PT on Sunday with the winner advancing to face the loser of USC/UCLA in the Contender's Bracket semifinals at 1 p.m. PT. The winner of that contest will move into the Championship Match at 4 p.m. PT.

In Saturday's opening matches, both ARIZONA STATE and WASHINGTON advanced with identical 3-2 victories to eliminate eighth seeded OREGON (2-10) and sixth seeded STANFORD (5-12).

The conclusion of the first-ever Pac-12 Championships will lead directly into the NCAA Championship Selection Show which will reveal the event's eight-team field Sunday night at 7 p.m. PT on