Skip to main content

Eleven Pac-12 Tennis Teams to Compete in NCAA Championships

May 3, 2016
Holly Roberts

Women's Bracket | Men's Bracket

SAN FRANCISCO - Eleven Pac-12 tennis teams, including five women’s and six men’s squads, were selected to compete for the NCAA Championships beginning next weekend. The first and second rounds will take place May 13-15 on institutional campuses, leading to the semifinals and championship on May 19-30 in Tulsa, Okla., hosted by the University of Tulsa.

On the women’s side, five teams earned bids to the national tournament and will compete for the Pac-12’s 22nd national title in women’s tennis. CALIFORNIA earned the No. 1-overall seed while STANFORD claimed the No. 15 seed. ARIZONA STATE, UCLA and USC earned the Conference's final three bids into the tournament. The Golden Bears will host the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley while the Cardinal host Texas A&M-Corpus Christi. The Sun Devils will take on North Carolina State in Auburn, Ala. The Bruins face Notre Dame in Columbus, Ohio and the Trojans head to Malibu, Calif. to face UNLV.

For the men, six teams will vie for the Pac-12’s 55th national title in men’s tennis, led by third-seeded UCLA, the Pac-12 regular season and tournament champions. The Bruins are joined by No. 13 seed California, OREGON, Stanford, No. 10 seed USC and WASHINGTON. In the first round, UCLA hosts Weber State while USC welcomes UNLV and the Golden Bears host Army West Point. The Ducks will face Tulsa in Norman, Okla. The Cardinal face Vanderbilt in Evanston, Ill. and the Huskies head to Lubbock, Texas to face SMU in the round of 64.