Pac-12 Men's and Women's All-Century Golf teams showcased on 'Pac-12 Sports Report'

Pac-12 Content Image

SAN FRANCISCO (May 3, 2016) – Pac-12 Networks’ flagship show, ‘Pac-12 Sports Report,’ revealed the Men’s and Women’s Golf All-Century teams Monday night.

The 12-member teams were voted on by a panel of 30 consisting of coaches, players, administrators and members of the media. Each member of the team was chosen based on their collegiate careers in the Conference.

On the men’s side, USC leads all schools with four selections, followed by Stanford (3), Arizona (2), Arizona State (2) and UCLA with one. Out of 70 total nominees, the players named to the team have won 14 College Player of the Year Awards, 6 NCAA individual titles, 34 Majors and 10 Masters. In all, there are 374 professional wins from members of the team.

For the women, Arizona State leads all schools with four selections, followed by Arizona (3), UCLA (2), USC (2) and Stanford with one. Members of the team represent five different decades and countries, with seven AP Female Athlete of the Year Award winners, 12 LPGA Player of the Year Award winners, and 200 LPGA Tournaments won.

The Pac-12 Men’s Golfer of the Century, Phil Mickelson, was with the Sun Devils from 1989-1992. With ASU, Mickelson was one of only four players to be named first-team All-American for four years. He won a school record 16 tournaments, including NCAA titles in 1989, 1990 and 1992, and was named Pac- 10 Player of the Year three times (1990-92). Also a U.S. Walker Cup member in 1989 and 1991, Mickelson was the U.S. Amateur champion in 1990, and was the only player to win outright NCAA crowns in freshman and sophomore seasons.

Randy Lein, who coached with USC from 1984-92 and Arizona State from 1993-2011, was named the Pac-12 Men’s Golf Coach of the Century. Lein guided the Sun Devils to 44 tournament victories, eight Pacific-10 Conference Championships, five NCAA West Regional wins and 10 top-10 finishes at the NCAA Championships, including the title in 1996. ASU notched solid NCAA finishes with fifth-place showings in 1999, 1998, 1997 (tie) and 2009 (tie), a fourth-place finish in 1995, sixth-place finishes in 1993, 2001 and 2003 and a ninth-place finish in 1994. He won Pacific-10 Conference Coach of the Year honors five times at ASU and also twice while at USC. Lein is part of the Golf Coaches Association of America Hall of Fame and the Sun Devil Athletics Hall of Fame.

Arizona’s Annika Sörenstam (1991-92) was named the Pac-12 Women’s Golfer of the Century. She was the first freshman to ever win the NCAA Division I Championship in 1991, and was named the NCAA Co-Player of the Year that same year. Sörenstam led the Wildcats to 14 team championships, and won seven collegiate titles. The winner of 90 international tournaments (most wins to her name all-time), she has also won 72 LPGA tournaments, including 10 majors.  Sörenstam was a 2003 inductee to the World Golf Hall of Fame.

Linda Vollstedt of Arizona State (1980-2001) nabbed the Pac-12 Women’s Golf Coach of the Century honors. Arizona State women’s golf captured its sixth NCAA championship title in 1998, and its fifth in six years. Vollstedt coached Arizona State to nine Conference championships, and has mentored four individual NCAA champions. She led them to 10 straight trips to the NCAA Championships, the third longest streak in the nation, and top-10 national finishes in 11 of her last 15 years. In fact, the Arizona State alum coached the Sun Devils to first or second place finishes in 57 of her last 99 tournaments, dating back more than seven years. Most recently, she was named one of Golf World Magazine's Top 10 College Coaches of the 20th century (fourth on the list). Vollstedt claimed consensus national coaching honors in 1993 and 1994, and was named the 1989 National and Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

See below for the complete teams:

Pac-12 Men’s Golf All-Century Team

Phil Mickelson – Arizona State, 1989-92

Tiger Woods – Stanford, 1995-96

Scott Simpson – USC, 1974-77

Tom Watson – Stanford, 1969-71

Paul Casey – Arizona State, 1998-00

Corey Pavin – UCLA, 1978-80, 82

Jim Furyk – Arizona, 1989-1992

Patrick Rodgers – Stanford, 2012-14

Sam Randolph – USC, 1983-86

Craig Stadler – USC, 1972-75

Ricky Barnes – Arizona, 2000-03

Dave Stockton – USC, 1961-63


Randy Lein – USC, 1984-92; Arizona State, 1993-2011


Phil Mickelson – Arizona State, 1989-92


Pac-12 Women’s Golf All-Century Team

Annika Sörenstam – Arizona, 1991-92

Lorena Ochoa – Arizona, 2001-02

Wendy Ward – Arizona State, 1992-1995

Danielle Ammaccapane – Arizona State, 1983-87

Annie Park – USC, 2013-15

Mickey Wright – Stanford, 1954

Grace Park – Arizona State, 1998-2000

Lizette Salas – USC, 2008-11

Tiffany Joh – UCLA, 2006-09

Marisa Baena – Arizona,1996-98

Kay Cockerill – UCLA, 1983-87

Heather Farr – Arizona State, 1983-85


Linda Vollstedt – Arizona State, 1980-2001


Annika Sörenstam – Arizona, 1991-92

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network