Pac-12 Announces Women's Tennis All-Conference Honors

Pac-12 Content Image

SAN FRANCISCO - The Pac-12 Conference announced today the women’s tennis All-Pac-12 honors for the 2016 season, as determined by a polling of the Conference coaches. CALIFORNIA’s Maegan Manasse was voted Pac-12 Singles Player of the Year, while her teammate Olivia Hauger was tabbed Pac-12 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year. Manasse and her teammate Denise Starr were named Pac-12 Doubles Team of the Year. For the second time in her career, ARIZONA STATE head coach Sheila McInerney was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year. The All-Pac-12 teams were also announced. 

Pac-12 Singles Player of the Year – Maegan Manasse, California
Manasse (Redondo Beach, Calif.) is the third Golden Bear in program history to be named Pac-12 Singles Athlete of the Year, joining Zsuzsanna Fodor in 2006 and Raquel Kops-Jones in 2004. The junior was also just the third player in school history to win the Pac-12 Singles Championship. On the year, Manasse boasts a 29-10 record overall that includes a 7-2 mark in Pac-12 dual matches and a 17-3 mark in tournament play. Manasse is the No. 7 ranked singles player in the country (as of April 26).

Pac-12 Doubles Team of the Year – Maegan Manasse and Denise Starr, California
Manasse (Redondo Beach, Calif.) and Starr (Brooklyn, N.Y.) are the third pair in Golden Bears history to be named Pac-12 Doubles team of the Year along with Susie Babos and Zsuzsanna Fodor in 2007 and Mari Andersson/Jana Juricova in 2011. The duo boasts a 19-9 record for the season, going 3-0 in Pac-12 dual matches and 11-3 in tournament play. Starr and Manasse, who claimed All-America honors last season, won a national doubles title at the Riviera/ITA Women’s All-American Championships in the fall. They are ranked No. 5 in the country (as of April 26).

Pac-12 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year – Olivia Hauger, California 
Hauger (Tulsa, Okla.) is the fourth Golden Bear to garner Pac-12 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year honors along with Jana Juricova in 2009, Suzi Bzbos in 2005 and Raquel Kops-Jones in 2001. On the year, Hauger's overall singles record is 24-11 (6-1 in Pac-12 duals). Cal won its first national team championship and its first national team indoor title when it captured the ITA National Women’s Team Indoor Championship in Madison, Wisconsin, on Feb. 8. Hauger became the first Bear to collect the Most Outstanding Player award at the ITA National Women’s Team Indoor Championship, after she clinched the 4-3 win over defending champ North Carolina in the final.

Pac-12 Coach of the Year – Sheila McInerney, Arizona State
McInerney has been named the Pac-12 Coach of the Year for the second time in her 32 years at Arizona State. She has led the No. 22 ranked Sun Devils (as of April 26) to a strong season, taking fourth place in the Conference with an 8-2 record, their best record ever in Conference play and a 17-5 record overall. At the Pac-12 Championships, McInerney guided the No. 21 ranked Alexandra Osborne and Ebony Panoho to claim the Pac-12 Doubles Championship, the first in program history.


Name Yr. School
Catherine Harrison Sr. UCLA
Desirae Krawczyk Sr. Arizona State
Maegan Manasse Jr. California
Lauren Marker Jr. Arizona
Giuliana Olmos Sr. USC
Carol Zhao Jr. Stanford
Name Yr. School
Donika Bashota So. Washington State
Lynn Chi Sr. California
Taylor Davidson Jr. Stanford
Caroline Doyle Jr. Stanford
Klara Fabikova Sr. California
Kyle McPhillips Sr. UCLA
Denise Starr Jr. California

Honorable Mention: Nour Abbes (WASH, Jr.) Krista Hardebeck (STAN, Sr.), Olivia Hauger (CAL, Fr.), Kassidy Jump (ASU, Jr.), Zoë Katz (USC, Jr.), Ebony Panoho (ASU, Sr.), Nuria Ormeño Ruiz (COLO, Jr.), Gabby Smith (USC, So.), Madison Westby (USC, So.).

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network