NCAA Beach Volleyball Championships: USC to play for championship, UCLA still in it

FRIDAY RECAP 

USC

No. 2 seed USC vs. No. 1 Florida State (Winners' Bracket)

USC will not be denied! The Trojans remained perfect at the NCAA Championships with a 3-1 win over one-see Florida State. Pair Sarah Hughes and Kelly Claes took court one to remain unbeaten on the season, and USC has now won 29 straight matches, a new school record. And they seem to be having fun out there doing it. 

The Trojans will compete for the National Championship on Sunday at 11:00 a.m. PT/12:00 p.m. MT. 

UCLA

No. 4 seed UCLA vs. No. 3 Pepperdine (Elimination Bracket)

It was a close match, but UCLA pulled off the upset to stay alive with a 3-2 win over Pepperdine in their first match on Saturday. Nicole & Megan McNamara got the Bruins on the board and tied the match at one before back-to-back wins on courts four and five helped UCLA advance. 

No. 4 see UCLA vs No. 5 see Hawaii (Elimination Bracket)

The Bruins continued their quest with a 3-2 win over Hawaii in their second match of the day on Saturday. It was a battle, with four of five courts going to five sets. UCLA will square off against No. 1 see Florida State on Sunday morning at 8:30 a.m. PT/9:30 a.m. MT, and the winner will advance to the National Championship to face USC. 

Arizona

No. 6 seed Arizona vs. No. 5 seed Hawaii (Elimination Bracket)

After a strong showing this season, Arizona beach volleyball was swept by Hawaii in round three of the NCAA Beach Volleyball Championships and was eliminated on Saturday morning. The Sand Cats had an impressive season, finishing second in the Pac-12 tournament last weekend before being selected for the inaugural NCAA Beach Volleyball Championship in Gulf Shores, Alabama. 

Categories:
Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close