Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

Stanford Women Claim Pac-12's 22nd NCAA Tennis Title

May 24, 2016
Holly Roberts

Women's Bracket | Men's Bracket

Tulsa, Okla. - The STANFORD women claimed the seventh NCAA team title for the Pac-12 of the 2015-16 campaign and the 18th NCAA tennis team title in program history, winning the championship on Tuesday, 4-3, over Oklahoma State. Pac-12 institutions have won 485 all-time national team championships across all sports to lead the country.

No. 15 seed STANFORD, the 2016 Pac-12 champion, claimed its 18th NCAA title in women's tennis and the Conference's 22nd, defeated No. 12 seed Oklahoma State, 4-3. After dropping the doubles point and facing the 3-1 deficit, the Cardinal rallied for the win. It was the Cardinal's fourth win in the NCAA Tournament when losing the doubles point. This is Stanford's first title since 2013 and the Pac-12's third in the last four years.

The Cardinal's run to the title included victories over Texas A&M-Corpus Christie (4-0), Texas A&M (4-3), No. 2 seed Florida (4-3), No. 10 seed Michigan (4-3) and No. 6 seed Vanderbilt (4-2) before facing Oklahoma State.

Also on the women's side, No. 1 seed CALIFORNIA made it to the national semifinal. For the men, No. 13 seed CALIFORNIA also made it to the national semifinal and UCLA, the 2016 Pac-12 Champion, made it to the round of eight.