Four Pac-12 Teams To Compete In NCAA Baseball Championship

Pac-12 Content Image

Bracket (PDF)

SAN FRANCISCO - Four Pac-12 baseball teams earned berths to the 2016 NCAA Baseball Championship, the Division I Baseball Committee announced today. UTAH earned the Pac-12's automatic bid while ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE, and WASHINGTON earned at-large selections. Regional action begins on Friday, June 3. All games will be broadcast live on the ESPN Networks.

The Pac-12 currently holds an all-time record of 784-474 (.623) in the NCAA Baseball Championship, with 28 titles all-time, the latest coming from UCLA in 2013.

Utah, the 2016 Pac-12 Champions for the first time in program history, had a remarkable run in league play, with a record of 19-11 (25-27 overall) to clinch the automatic bid. The Utes won seven of their last 10 games including a winner-take-all series against Washington last weekend for the league title. It is the Utes first trip to the postseason since 2009 and the fifth all-time. As the No. 4 seed in their regional pod, the Utes face the host and No. 1 seed Ole Miss on June 3 at 5 p.m. PT. Tulane earned the No. 2 seed in the pod while Boston College is No. 3.

Arizona earned its first trip to the NCAA Baseball Championship since they won the title in 2012. It is the program's 34th all-time appearance, the ninth-most in NCAA history (1954-present). The Wildcats boast a 38-20 overall record and tied for third place in the Pac-12 with a 16-14 record. Arizona is entering postseason play on a six-game winning streak. The Wildcats are seeded No. 2 in their four-team regional pod and are joined by the host and No. 1 seed Louisiana-Lafayette, No. 3 seed Sam Houston State and No. 4 seed Princeton. Arizona will square off against Sam Houston State on June 3 at 11 a.m. PT.

Arizona State is in the NCAA Baseball Championship for the fourth-straight year and the 39th time overall in program history, the fourth-most in NCAA history. The Sun Devils tied for third place in the Pac-12, posting a 16-14 league record and a 34-21 overall record. Arizona State, the No. 2 seed in the regional pod, will face No. 3 seed Gonzaga at 12 p.m. PT on June 3. The host and No. 1 seed TCU and No. 4 seed Oral Roberts are the other two teams in the pod.

Washington earned a runner-up finish in the Pac-12 with 32-21 overall record and and a 17-13 Conference record. For the Huskies, it is their second appearance in the last three years and the 10th all-time. In its regional pod, Washington earned the No. 3 seed and will face No. 2 seed UC Santa Barbara at 12 p.m. PT on June 3. Vanderbilt is the host and No. 1 seed in the pod while the No. 4 seed went to Xavier.

Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 3, to Monday, June 6 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 6 at approximately 8 p.m. (PT).

The 70th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 18, at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Neb.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network