Pac-12 beach volleyball 2016 year in review

Pac-12 Content Image



As the Pac-12 celebrated its storied past throughout the Centennial campaign, the Conference looked to the future while also adding to its history in 2015-16 with the addition of Beach Volleyball as the league’s 23rd sponsored sport. In conjunction with the first year of sponsorship by the NCAA, the Pac-12 was among four other beach volleyball conferences in the sport’s inaugural season along with the Atlantic Sun Conference, Big West Conference, Coastal Collegiate Athletic Association, and West Coast Conference.

1 - The first-ever Pac-12 Beach Volleyball Championships were held at USC’s Merle Norman Stadium in Los Angeles and dominated by the host Trojans as Pac-12 Pair of the Year Kelly Claes and Sara Hughes captured the Pairs title and top seeded USC rolled to the Team crown.

1, 3, T5 - The Pac-12 set the tone on the sand as it sent a national-best three teams to the first-ever NCAA Championship in No. 2 seed USC, No. 4 seed UCLA and No. 6 seed ARIZONA. The Trojans won all four of their dual matches at the event, including two triumphs over No. 1 seed Florida State, en route to a 34-2 final record and the inaugural NCAA team championship, while UCLA finished third and ARIZONA tied for fifth.

3 - The number of Pac-12 beach volleyball teams in the final AVCA Top 10 poll, tied with the Coastal Collegiate Sports Association (CCSA) for the conference with the most teams in the national poll.

6 - The Conference also led the nation with six AVCA All-America selections in USC’s Claes and Hughes, ARIZONA’s Madison Witt and McKenna Witt and UCLA’s Megan McNamara and Nicole McNamara.

8 - NCAA All-Tournament Team selections for the Pac-12 out of 10 honorees: USC No. 1 pair Kelly Claes and Sara Hughes, ARIZONA No. 2 pair Jianna Bonomi and Katarina Schulz, UCLA No. 4 pair Zano Muno and Jessyka Ngauamo, USC No. 5 pair Jo Kremer and Zoe Nightingale.

2016 Pac-12 Beach Volleyball All-Conference Teams
2016 Pac-12 BVB All-Academic Teams
2016 Pac-12 Beach Volleyball Championships

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network